Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by janisjoslyn
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is not your typical rich buttercream. If you're looking for a whipped type of icing that's not too sweet, this is perfect! I cooked the flour & milk until it became thick (like white gravy). I was worried that the sugar could be "grainy" or "crunchy" and it was a little bit at first but once I refrigerated it for a few hours.....everything came together perfectly. I would use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe! Just what I was looking for to frost my cupcakes with. Took the advice of another reviewer and added the flour gradually to the milk and kept on whisking. Also used icing sugar instead of granulated. I added orange flavoring instead of vanilla and added some colouring. Twas just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this for the first time today and I loved it!!!!!! I even doubled the recipe to make sure I would have enough. It's nice and buttery but not too sweet. This is the one you need if like you're like me & think rhe buttercream icing is way too sweet! I was a little nervous after reading all the reviews about cooking the milk & flour, then making sure it was cool enough before adding to the butter/sugar mixture. All in all I did pretty good for my first try. Hopefully everyone likes this at the party tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I've made this frosting several times now. When I take the time to beat the sugar and butter together until the sugar is dissolved, it is delicious. It takes a solid six minutes, or longer, though. I've also substituted half the butter for peanut butter and that has worked well for a peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It doesn't form a ball like the recipe says, you have to make sure the flour/milk mixture gets really really thick while cooking it on low and make sure you constantly wisk it while it is cooking or you could get lumps. Even as it was cooling I stirred it a bit. Patience is key. If you are not patient it will not turn out good. If you are, this is an amazing frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I am giving this a 4 due to the inadequate directions. The recipe itself is GREAT! This is not a quick throw together recipe. If that is what you want go elsewhere. To maximize time I put the sugar and butter in my stand mixer (on high and let them blend while I cooked the flour and milk. (Both took aprox 15min.) I cooked the milk/flour at a low heat, slowly. The milk/flour did not form a ball, I just took it to a thick past. Tasting a small amount to be sure it was not "floury" before pulling it off the heat. While letting that cool, I returned to my butter/sugar. It had taken a noticable difference in look. I tested a small amount between my fingers. It was just a little gritty but mostly fluffy, I accurately assumed that the thickened milk and vanilla would take care of the rest. Once cooled I added the milk, then vanilla. The result was amazing! I would note that the type of milk you use will effect thickening time and would not recommend skim milk for this. You want the cream. When thickening you are essentially cooking out the water and leaving the milk fat(cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Kitchenaid stand mixer is the key. The hubby and kids loved the frosting.Very lite and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Patience is the key! It took me a super long time to make this but it was totally worth it. Whip the final product until it isn't grainy, even if it takes 25 minutes. I substituted it for cream cheese frosting on a carrot cake and it was so smooth and delicious that nobody could tell the difference. I go a little heavier on the vanilla flavoring as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
definatly not bad... I made this recipe because of not having powdered sugar in the house. and it didnt turn out grainy like i was worried. turned out very smooth and pretty good flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Picture Butte, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have made this frosting so many times I lost count. It is sincerely the best frosting I have ever had. The first time I made it we almost did not have enough to frost the cupcakes because my husband and I kept eating it! This frosting is very light, so does not do well for decorating other then simple swirl on a cupcake or a shell along the bottom of a cake. I tried adding more flour with the milk and it does help make it a little stiffer and easier to use for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States