Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It wasn't hard to make, turned out smooth and creamy but with no taste. If your looking for a buttercream or a truly sweet frosting, this isn't it. It tastes more like the whipped variety of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've used this recipe 3 times and it has not failed me yet. my family loves it and told me not to ever use anything else. so I guess that answers that! If you follow the directions, you shouldn't have any problems and don't alter anything. just wondering how it will work on cookies, has anyone ever tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer sabruno
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious and easy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer sabruno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Love this, going in my recipe box for sure :) listen to the number one reviewer!! Also, I whisked the flour into the milk over medium high heat stirring constantly. Turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow! This is my go to frosting from now on! Both my husband and son who usually scrap off frosting loved it! I made this because I didn't have powdered sugar. I did not have patience for 15 mins with the butter and sugar and it was gritty. I also only had White whole wheat flour. It was absolutely delicious and fluffy.I did not put it in fridge before frosting. I would be afraid to use powder sugar and make it too sweet, then my guys won't like it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great Quick And Easy Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was wonderful -so creamy and delightful and not too sweet! I'd give it 5 stars but I'd prefer if it was just a *bit* thicker. I made it according to the recipe, taking into account some of the tremendously helpful comments. For example, while cooking the flour/milk mixture I got the mashed-potato consistency that someone mentioned; it only formed a ball once the mixture had cooled to room temp. I used granulated sugar and took the recommendation of beating it "mercilessly" -it didn't look totally uniform/dissolved but after a while I relented, and I was pleased to find that the final product was delightfully creamy! I'm going to try to tweak it to get it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Malik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for making buttercream frosting. Every time I use it on a cake it people always ask what kind of frosting it is and demand the recipe! My trick is to substitute heavy cream for the milk. It adds just a little more lightness to the frosting when it is whipped. Like others have said, only cook the dairy and flour until it has thickened. Be certain that part of the recipe is entirely cooled before you add it to the butter and sugar. IF you happen to add it too early (like I have done) and your frosting turns to soup, refrigerate everything until it is cool and whip it up. Also, do not use confectioners sugar. If you want to add a different flavor, use some of trader joe's organic granulated sugar. For whatever reason it adds a very interesting and delicious flavor to the icing. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My family has been making this for years. the flour mixture never turned into a ball as recipe says, we always cook until thick and a grey-ish blue in color, the trick is not letting the mixture get to cold and beating the butter and white sugar until it looks like whipped cream and all sugar is dissolved. (it will even turns white) add the flour mixture to the butter a tbl spoon at a time and beat well between each drop. it is very time consuming, but worth every minute. Was looking on a good way to make this chocolate,but have not seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Smith-Mashke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States