Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I had bought a bag of buckwheat flour on a recent trip to a mill. I wanted to try buckwheat pancakes because I'd never eaten them. My husband and I both loved the taste. However, they didn't rise like the regular pancakes I'm used to. I've since learned that the batter needs to sit for a while before using it. So, I'm anxious to try again. Next time, I'll make the batter the night before and keep in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These are really good. My whole family loved them. Best if you let the mix sit for a bit to make lighter, fluffier pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Regular or 'heart-healthy' kind are really GOOD! Heart-healthy even lighter in texture which helps with initial (They're too heavy!) reactions from new eaters of Buckwheat. If the batter sits and works about 1-2 hours, the lighter they get! Our tasters could not tell the difference between 'heart-stoppers' & 'heart-healthy' batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What a treat! I have always LOVED buckwheat pancakes, but had to rely on the rare occasion when I could find them on a restaurant menu as buckwheat flour years ago was difficult to find on store shelves. That has changed, and now that buckwheat flour is readily available I have enjoyed these pancakes at home. Don't expect them to be like buttermilk pancakes as the taste is entirely different. This is a GREAT recipe I've used for several years, and I love the inclusion of the buttermilk. I just wish you could make buckwheat pancakes, butter and syrup lo cal, so we could enjoy these more often instead of as an occasional treat. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
These pancakes did cook up fluffy but the taste was less than appealing. All I could taste was baking soda and salt. I added about 2T of sugar and that made these pancakes edible. I did have to substitute plain yogurt for the buttermilk, an acceptable substitution according to Allrecipes. If I make these again, I will not add salt, will add more sugar and may cut back on the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. My mom always fixed buckwheat pancakes when we were little and they were my absolute favorite! I had never found a good recipe until now. These were light and fluffy. I used Fat-Free Buttermilk, Promise Fat-Free butter, 1 Egg Beater and used Pam on the griddle. It turned out great and was then much less fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I have made these pancakes several times and they are a family favorite. I didn't have any problems with them not being fluffy and in fact I use no sodium baking soda since I'm on a sodium restricted diet. One tip for making pancakes is not to over mix them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
These are great pancakes - love the flavor, and they bake up nice and fluffy. My husband and I like a more pronounced buckwheat flavor, so I use only 2 tbsp. white flour, and use about 10 tbsp. (a little less than 3/4 cup) buckwheat flour. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
My 13 year old loved these pancakes - even though buckwheat is healthy!! The first time I made the recipe I substituted buttermilk by adding one tablespoon of lemon juice to regular milk and the pancakes turned out great just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I used to make great pancakes, pre-vegan days. Having trouble since. This recipe is great. I substituted soymilk and lemon juice for buttermilk, olive oil for butter, soy flour and water for egg, and ground the kasha in my coffee grinder. Turned out great, tender, moist and fluffy. Substitutions work well. Definitely a keeper. My 2 year old is even eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States