Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Flavour wise, these were really good! I took the suggestion of some of the other users and let the batter sit overnight, but it didn't seem to help at all, the pancakes were still really thin and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These pancakes were the consistency of water. Even after I added more flour to thicken they were still very runny. I did use reconstituted butter milk powder and water for the buttermilk called for but still think they would have been runny. Maybe I will try the recipe again with fresh buttermilk and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This batter was runnier than traditional pancake batter, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i followed the advice of other members and prepared my batter the night before. the pancakes did turn out fluffy, but they buckwheat flavor was overpowering. i've had buckwheat pancakes in restaurants before and liked them, but these didn't really do it for me. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe was very tasty, and the pancakes turned out light and fluffy. Based on other's reviews, I decreased the baking soda to 1/2 t., and increased the sugar to 1 T. and added 1/2 t. cinnamon. Then I added fresh blueberries to each pancake while cooking. My husband went back for seconds and thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is great, especially if you have a yearning for a healthier breakfast however, if you have issues with wheat and gluten, I just wanted to inform you that the recipe would be so much healthier if you omit the flour. I even omit the buttermilk and substitute rice milk because milk makes most food automatically un-healthy for people that are lactose intolerant. So, I'm not criticising, just wanted to share this for people like me that usually adopt the recipes from this site because they are already so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These were a big hit for easter breakfast! i ended up using whole wheat flower instead of the white flower and added some bananas at the request of my daughter! They came out delicious and moist! Great recipe and we have left overs to freeze for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We've tried many recipes for buckwheat pancakes and this is our favorite! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Followed the recipe to a "T" except for doubling it, but the result tasted strongly of baking soda, and little else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These pancakes were surprisingly light and tasty. My pancake-hating husband went back for seconds! Was pressed for time, so I only let the batter sit for 30 minutes before making (will leave for longer next time). Easy to make and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States