Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Oh my gosh! This recipe was the absolute best and I am a person who loves to try new recipes! I didn't have buckwheat flour but had some whole buckwheat I guess you'd call it. I just threw it into my coffee grinder and the taste was nutty and my whole family loved it! The absolute best! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe as written. The pancakes were the lightest and fluffiest buckwheats I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were very nice. They were easy to make and I got four 15cm diameter pancakes from the mixture - just the right amount for two for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Super yummy! I too used half whole wheat and half buckwheat, I cut out the white flour altogether. Even the fussy eaters ate these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What a treat! I have always LOVED buckwheat pancakes, but had to rely on the rare occasion when I could find them on a restaurant menu as buckwheat flour years ago was difficult to find on store shelves. That has changed, and now that buckwheat flour is readily available I have enjoyed these pancakes at home. Don't expect them to be like buttermilk pancakes as the taste is entirely different. This is a GREAT recipe I've used for several years, and I love the inclusion of the buttermilk. I just wish you could make buckwheat pancakes, butter and syrup lo cal, so we could enjoy these more often instead of as an occasional treat. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Flavour wise, these were really good! I took the suggestion of some of the other users and let the batter sit overnight, but it didn't seem to help at all, the pancakes were still really thin and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These pancakes were the consistency of water. Even after I added more flour to thicken they were still very runny. I did use reconstituted butter milk powder and water for the buttermilk called for but still think they would have been runny. Maybe I will try the recipe again with fresh buttermilk and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This batter was runnier than traditional pancake batter, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i followed the advice of other members and prepared my batter the night before. the pancakes did turn out fluffy, but they buckwheat flavor was overpowering. i've had buckwheat pancakes in restaurants before and liked them, but these didn't really do it for me. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe was very tasty, and the pancakes turned out light and fluffy. Based on other's reviews, I decreased the baking soda to 1/2 t., and increased the sugar to 1 T. and added 1/2 t. cinnamon. Then I added fresh blueberries to each pancake while cooking. My husband went back for seconds and thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States