Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made these this morning...must say they were pretty good. I remember my mother making these when I was little..these didn't taste like hers, but they are good. I still prefer the buttermilk ones, but these were fun for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My son is so hard to get up in the morning. When I tell him I'm making these pancakes he's up in a flash! Very easy recipe and you can add just about any fruit! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have the buttermilk, so I used vinegar and milk as a substitute which made a thinner batter and almost see-through "crepes" instead of pancakes; I would half the salt, and triple the sugar. Buckwheat has a very strong flavor which I am not a fan of and I like it better when I use 2-3 parts all-purpose to 1 part buckwheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I just made these 2 ways: Gluten free (as another reviewer suggested) and as stated. PHENOMENAL. I was totally skeptical, but both batches are incredible!! For the original recipe I doubled all the ingredients with a couple minor adjustments: 2 cups buttermilk, 2 eggs, 6 Tbsp butter, 3/4 cup all purpose flour, 3/4 cup buckwheat flour, 1 TBSP. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and then for the perfect finishing touch I added a splash of vanilla. I made the batter the night before, but tested it right away to see if I should make a back-up plan for my picky eaters "just in case"...they had a fluffy, light, perfectly balanced flavor right off the bat. YUM. For the gluten free, I sifted 6 Tbsp. buckwheat flour, 3 Tbsp. coconut flour, 3 Tbsp. tapioca flour, 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum, 1 1/2 tsp. sugar, 3/4 tsp. baking powder, scant 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and a just a dash of salt. Then i added in the 3 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 cup buttermilk, and TWO eggs (coconut flour requires the extra egg for binding and leavening purposes) and a splash of vanilla. This made a VERY thick batter, so I just added in buttermilk until it thinned out to the right consistency as I did with my other batch....it took a LOT more buttermilk, which was an experimental gamble for me -- but it paid off! These were amazing!! You could hardly tell the difference between the GF and non-GF batches. I am in love. :) Oh so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yummo! Able to feed 1 adult with small appetite, and 3 children ages 1, 2, and 5, but I wish I'd doubled as I would've gladly eaten more. Next time I would reduce the salt to 1/4 ts: perhaps my salted butter made them a bit too salty, although it wasn't as apparent when eaten with stewed apples, fried bananas and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I changed this up. I used applesauce for the butter and I didn't have any buttermilk so I used 1/4 cup plain yogurt & 3/4 cup milk. I made a mistake and did 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and clove to the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I substituted Jiffy Baking Mix (similar to Bisquick) for the all-purpose flour. Since it has baking soda already, I left out the baking soda but added one and a half teaspoons baking powder; I cut the salt to a few shakes. You can mix them up this way and use the batter immediately; they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were great! I made these at home and brought them to work and had breakfast with my co-worker. We both thought they were delicious! I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk and 1 TBL spoon lemon as suggested by Lou (thanks, Lou!) and I also let them sit an extra hour so they would be fluffier. Thank you for submitting, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Mixed up a double batch of these pancakes yesterday. My mom used to make buckwheat pancakes when I was a kid & when I found the flour I decided to try. I used sour milk/half & half mixture I had...batter seemed a bit salty, but after sitting overnight, just great today. This will be a regular pancake...try a piece of cheddar cheese with pancakes. Cut's the sweetness of the syrup, I guess. Another one of mom's ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Fantastic! Surprisingly light and fluffy! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used low fat yogurt. The pancakes still tasted good, so it seems the substitution works. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States