Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These pancakes are fabulous. Light, fluffy, just delicious. I must add that I added a dash of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla simply because I adore those flavors..and WOW!!!!!!!!!! These are a keeper. I had to try not to eat the entire batch myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RACH8
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Perfect recipe, nothing needs to be changed. BUT since I grew up eating buckwheat pancakes I changed the proportions of buckwheat flour to regular flour (about 70% buckwheat, 30% regular flour) and will put even more buckwheat in next time. I also used gluten free flour since I can't have regular flour. Turned out PERFECT, fluffy, yummy! A hit at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I had purchased some buckwheat flour at our local market and was looking for a recipe to use it. I stumbled across the recipe for pancakes however since it was Sunday morning and we wanted to have pancakes right away, I was a bit concerned that I would not be able to let the batter sit as has been recommended. I did take the advice of another person and reduce the baking soda to 1/2 tsp and add 1 tsp of baking powder. I never have buttermilk but just added 1 tbsp of lemon juice to the milk and let it sit for a few minutes before adding to the recipe. We really liked the results - the pancakes were as fluffy as my normal "white flour only" ones are and we enjoyed the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this recipe today after browsing the web looking for a buckwheat pancake like my Dad used to make us when we were young. I thought this was it, but it sure wasn't. I'm not going to rate with the stars. Like another poster said, all I could taste was baking soda. I took others advice and added more sugar, and let it set before cooking. They were fluffy, but that's it. I'm wondering about using a tried and true recipe for buttermilk pancakes (which uses baking powder and a little soda), and subsituting buckwheat instead of APF. I found that I could not submit the review w/o stars, so chose only two. I'll try it again, and hate to rate a recipe so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It was overly salty and runny. I followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My husband and I made these for brunch today. They were delicious! Nice hearty flavor without being overwhelming and a delicate texture inside with a slightly crisp exterior. I substituted greek yogurt mixed with cream and h2o for the buttermilk since I didn't have any. This is becoming my goto pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
these pancakes are a great flavor. 3 things i did different to make them healthier and tastier: instead of butter, i used grapeseed oil (safe for high heat). i used brown sugar instead of white. lastly, i added a tsp of vanilla extract. buckwheat has a very earthy flavor, so it's a bit offset by the last 2 changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Awesome pancakes! Light, fluffy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Virgin Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I made these this AM, and they were delicious! The only modification I did was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon and ground flax seed. Family loved them. My teenage son said they were the best he has ever had. Will now use this one as my regular "go to" recipe. Thanks for sharing Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teschrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christi
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This pancakes are very good.. Although I'm not crazy about buckwheat, as other reviewer said it's taste like a burned egg, well that's buckwheat.. I made this pancakes for my husband who's on a no carb diet & he loves this pancakes. I did change all purpose flour with 1 scoop of protein powder for extra nutrient and adjust the milk until I got the right consistency and I add 1/4 tsp of cinnamon powder. I got 4 large pancakes. Perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States