Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very good recipe, my family loves the heartier taste of the buckwheat. We serve it with a more robust syrup, the DARK KARO. It really brings out the rustic taste of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Buckwheat is a hard flavour to mask and these pancakes were terrific! My 10 yr old loved them. They are not the regular buttermilk fare, but if you like a healthier pancake, this is a great recipe. I added a dash of vanilla and used a half and half mixture of milk and plain yogurt (as I didn't have buttermilk on hand). I also added blueberries. Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Recipe tastes like it is missing something. I've used much better recipes for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I make pancakes with some regularity and our family always enjoys it. That said, this was a poor recipe. When I mixed it all up, it seemed unusually runny to me. When I cook them, usually the first few pancakes are a little flat and then they get fluffier as I cook and the batter has had a chance to sit. Not these. They were all flat. Then when we tasted them the soda flavor was dominant. I tried masking it with vanilla but it didn't help. They were also rubbery, which suggests too much egg and liquid. I think pancakes need some baking powder too. The one thing that might affect my experience is that I have a large family and have to multiply the size of most recipes. Maybe when doing so the measurements need to be adjusted for certain ingredients. But for the dominant taste in the leavening (soda), you'd think they would have risen at least a little. I'm going back to my old way of pancakes by using my favorite recipe and substituting half the flour with buckwheat. That's always worked well for me. The silver lining here is that as you try things that don't work, you get that much better and know better what you're doing. Thanks for the recipe all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I just made these as part of my Easter brunch, and they were fantastic! I love that they have such little sugar in them. Most pancakes are so full of sugar they make my teeth hurt! I made the batter ahead of time, and stuck it in the refrigerator for 2 hours. I cooked them up fresh when my guests arrived. They were nice and fluffy with a great texture. They had a wonderful flavor with a little butter and 100% maple syrup. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made these this morning...must say they were pretty good. I remember my mother making these when I was little..these didn't taste like hers, but they are good. I still prefer the buttermilk ones, but these were fun for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My son is so hard to get up in the morning. When I tell him I'm making these pancakes he's up in a flash! Very easy recipe and you can add just about any fruit! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have the buttermilk, so I used vinegar and milk as a substitute which made a thinner batter and almost see-through "crepes" instead of pancakes; I would half the salt, and triple the sugar. Buckwheat has a very strong flavor which I am not a fan of and I like it better when I use 2-3 parts all-purpose to 1 part buckwheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I just made these 2 ways: Gluten free (as another reviewer suggested) and as stated. PHENOMENAL. I was totally skeptical, but both batches are incredible!! For the original recipe I doubled all the ingredients with a couple minor adjustments: 2 cups buttermilk, 2 eggs, 6 Tbsp butter, 3/4 cup all purpose flour, 3/4 cup buckwheat flour, 1 TBSP. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and then for the perfect finishing touch I added a splash of vanilla. I made the batter the night before, but tested it right away to see if I should make a back-up plan for my picky eaters "just in case"...they had a fluffy, light, perfectly balanced flavor right off the bat. YUM. For the gluten free, I sifted 6 Tbsp. buckwheat flour, 3 Tbsp. coconut flour, 3 Tbsp. tapioca flour, 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum, 1 1/2 tsp. sugar, 3/4 tsp. baking powder, scant 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and a just a dash of salt. Then i added in the 3 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 cup buttermilk, and TWO eggs (coconut flour requires the extra egg for binding and leavening purposes) and a splash of vanilla. This made a VERY thick batter, so I just added in buttermilk until it thinned out to the right consistency as I did with my other batch....it took a LOT more buttermilk, which was an experimental gamble for me -- but it paid off! These were amazing!! You could hardly tell the difference between the GF and non-GF batches. I am in love. :) Oh so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yummo! Able to feed 1 adult with small appetite, and 3 children ages 1, 2, and 5, but I wish I'd doubled as I would've gladly eaten more. Next time I would reduce the salt to 1/4 ts: perhaps my salted butter made them a bit too salty, although it wasn't as apparent when eaten with stewed apples, fried bananas and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States