Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were delicious! I used whole milk instead of buttermilk since that's all I had, and doubled the recipe. They do come out quite flat, but not at all flat on taste. Will definitely make again -- even my kids (1.5 and 5) gobbled them up! Topped them with berries and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very tastie. I actually liked that they were thinner than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very good recipe, my family loves the heartier taste of the buckwheat. We serve it with a more robust syrup, the DARK KARO. It really brings out the rustic taste of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Buckwheat is a hard flavour to mask and these pancakes were terrific! My 10 yr old loved them. They are not the regular buttermilk fare, but if you like a healthier pancake, this is a great recipe. I added a dash of vanilla and used a half and half mixture of milk and plain yogurt (as I didn't have buttermilk on hand). I also added blueberries. Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Recipe tastes like it is missing something. I've used much better recipes for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I make pancakes with some regularity and our family always enjoys it. That said, this was a poor recipe. When I mixed it all up, it seemed unusually runny to me. When I cook them, usually the first few pancakes are a little flat and then they get fluffier as I cook and the batter has had a chance to sit. Not these. They were all flat. Then when we tasted them the soda flavor was dominant. I tried masking it with vanilla but it didn't help. They were also rubbery, which suggests too much egg and liquid. I think pancakes need some baking powder too. The one thing that might affect my experience is that I have a large family and have to multiply the size of most recipes. Maybe when doing so the measurements need to be adjusted for certain ingredients. But for the dominant taste in the leavening (soda), you'd think they would have risen at least a little. I'm going back to my old way of pancakes by using my favorite recipe and substituting half the flour with buckwheat. That's always worked well for me. The silver lining here is that as you try things that don't work, you get that much better and know better what you're doing. Thanks for the recipe all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I just made these as part of my Easter brunch, and they were fantastic! I love that they have such little sugar in them. Most pancakes are so full of sugar they make my teeth hurt! I made the batter ahead of time, and stuck it in the refrigerator for 2 hours. I cooked them up fresh when my guests arrived. They were nice and fluffy with a great texture. They had a wonderful flavor with a little butter and 100% maple syrup. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made these this morning...must say they were pretty good. I remember my mother making these when I was little..these didn't taste like hers, but they are good. I still prefer the buttermilk ones, but these were fun for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My son is so hard to get up in the morning. When I tell him I'm making these pancakes he's up in a flash! Very easy recipe and you can add just about any fruit! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have the buttermilk, so I used vinegar and milk as a substitute which made a thinner batter and almost see-through "crepes" instead of pancakes; I would half the salt, and triple the sugar. Buckwheat has a very strong flavor which I am not a fan of and I like it better when I use 2-3 parts all-purpose to 1 part buckwheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States