Best Broccoli Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Hi. I am the original poster of this recipe. I have since found Knorr cream of Potato soup to be a better choice. It is rich and thicker. I use 3 1/2 cups water and then at the end add 1/2 cup of 10% cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I thought the flavor of this recipe was great, but the technique for preparation was horrible and the soup came out lumpy with gobs of cheese making the broccoli stick together in clumps, making it almost inedible. Next time I make this, I will do what I thought about doing and should have done in the first place, which is to make a kind of roux with all of the wet ingredients, then add the cheese in gradually until melted, adding the broccoli last. That's the way I've always made broccoli Cheddar soup in the past and it has never turned out so disastrously as the method in thes recipe! It makes for a much smoother texture all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Came out a little thinner than I wanted, so next time I will only use 3 c water- but SOOO delicious. I added a whole cup of milk instead of 1/2c. And used regular chicken buillion cubes instead of the cauliflower soup mix. Added salt and pepper and much extra cheese and this is delicious! Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is awesome!! I added garlic, onion powder and red pepper flakes used frozen broccoli and used 3 cups chicken broth instead of water. It turned out great! I could not stop "tasting" it while it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My husband and I both loved this soup! I took other reviews into consideration and only used 3 cups of water and used some leftover potatoes to thicken. It was restaurant quality and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very very good. I'd give it 5 stars except it was much too watery. I only used 3 cups of water instead of 4, and I realized as I was making that it would be too watery, so I doubled the amount of broccoli, but it was still too watery. I ended up adding some cornstarch to thicken it up. But overall, it was incredibly easy and tasted great. I didn't have (nor have I ever seen) cauliflower soup mix, so I used two chicken bullion cubes. Also, don't throw away your broccoli stalks for this recipe. They're very healthy and you won't even notice them when cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a great recipie for busy working moms and dads. We love soup in our house, but don't have a lot of time to prepare fresh recipies! This recipie mixed well, had a great consistency, and a good overall taste. I added a few extra seasonings to the base. Overall, a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
excellent!!! i used frozed chopped broc instead of fresh, and i used chick broth for 1/2 of the water. i also added a bit of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2lucasnbella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
First of all, I could not find cauliflower soup mix anywhere so I used vegetable soup mix. I thought it was going to turn out horribly wrong (because I failed to realized that vegetable soup mix would be brown!), but to my surprise it was great. I did have to add a little heavy cream though to make it more white in color. Next time I will use something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I also used three cups of water instead of four and it turned out with a good thickness. I couldn't find cauliflower soup mix, so I used a vegetable soup mix. I would use vegetable boullion next time to avoid the dried vegetables that came with it. The soup is green to begin with, so when you add dried carrots, it just looks kinda gross. My boyfriend made fun of its appearance, but liked the taste. I served it in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States