Best Broccoli Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This is a great recipie for busy working moms and dads. We love soup in our house, but don't have a lot of time to prepare fresh recipies! This recipie mixed well, had a great consistency, and a good overall taste. I added a few extra seasonings to the base. Overall, a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Came out a little thinner than I wanted, so next time I will only use 3 c water- but SOOO delicious. I added a whole cup of milk instead of 1/2c. And used regular chicken buillion cubes instead of the cauliflower soup mix. Added salt and pepper and much extra cheese and this is delicious! Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
We tried this soup tonight and were surprised at how good it turned out. Couldnt find the dried cauliflower soup, so we used leek instead. I thought it was perfect for a fresh, easy meal. My boyfriend thought it could have been a bit cheesier, but that was only a minor complaint- he really liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very very good. I'd give it 5 stars except it was much too watery. I only used 3 cups of water instead of 4, and I realized as I was making that it would be too watery, so I doubled the amount of broccoli, but it was still too watery. I ended up adding some cornstarch to thicken it up. But overall, it was incredibly easy and tasted great. I didn't have (nor have I ever seen) cauliflower soup mix, so I used two chicken bullion cubes. Also, don't throw away your broccoli stalks for this recipe. They're very healthy and you won't even notice them when cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My husband and I both loved this soup! I took other reviews into consideration and only used 3 cups of water and used some leftover potatoes to thicken. It was restaurant quality and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
First of all, I could not find cauliflower soup mix anywhere so I used vegetable soup mix. I thought it was going to turn out horribly wrong (because I failed to realized that vegetable soup mix would be brown!), but to my surprise it was great. I did have to add a little heavy cream though to make it more white in color. Next time I will use something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This fenominal soup really made my kids wanting more. Altogether it brought my family together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Great!I was making this soup first time at home.Every body just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I thought the flavor of this recipe was great, but the technique for preparation was horrible and the soup came out lumpy with gobs of cheese making the broccoli stick together in clumps, making it almost inedible. Next time I make this, I will do what I thought about doing and should have done in the first place, which is to make a kind of roux with all of the wet ingredients, then add the cheese in gradually until melted, adding the broccoli last. That's the way I've always made broccoli Cheddar soup in the past and it has never turned out so disastrously as the method in thes recipe! It makes for a much smoother texture all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States