Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Scrumptious!I LOVE this cookie! They never last long--but can be frozen nicely. I add an extra teas. cinnamon, a teas. of pumpkin pie spice, a little extra vanilla, and I use 3 large whole eggs and an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. No nuts--I add dried blueberries, cherries, or cranberries. I usually cook them 9-11 minutes on parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Flavor is out of this world - hard to eat just one for breakfast. I used 3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour but then needed to add quite a bit of water to keep moist. Might cut the brown sugar by a 1/3rd as they are pretty sweet . Num num! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are great - Wish I had apricots for this batch! Next time I think I will add some oat or wheat bran and also flax meal. I keep mine in the freezer and put them in the microwave for about 20 seconds and they taste like a fresh cookie right out of the oven! Very similar to Baker's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
i loved these and so did the family! they were fantastic for being healthy. I used some splenda and replaced half the oil for applesauce. i also used dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I used applesauce instead of the prunes, and added extra applesauce and reduced the oil. I added a little extra baking soda to compensate for the extra acidity of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I loved these cookies! I used whatever combination of nuts and dried fruit that I had available. apricots, cranberries, raisins and I even added some unsalted sunflower seeds. I substituted the prune puree with applesauce and it turned out great! A great grab and go breakfast that is hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Great recipe. Don't forget to add the sugar with the dry ingredients - the recipe doesn't mention sugar in the steps! My 3-year-old ate hers up in 30 seconds flat. I used a 5-grain hot cereal instead of plain oatmeal, and used half whole wheat flour. I ran out of brown sugar after half a cup (oops!) so I used white sugar for the rest and added a 1/2 cup of molasses to the liquid ingredients. Didn't have enough apricots on hand, so I used some dried cranberries, too. 8 1/2 minutes in the oven was just about perfect. I got 48 cookies out of this recipe. I can't wait to try messing around with different combinations of fruit, and cocoa sounds great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
these cookies were very good for a lowfat treat. although i made a few adjustments 1) use all applesauce, no need for fattening oil 2) upped the cinnamon and vanilla by 1 tsp for added flavor 3) use 1 1/2 - 2 cups of oats for real oatmeal cookie texture 4) decrease the sugar by 1/2 cup if using sweetened applesauce. otherwise they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
These are so great! They just disappeared! I used half cocoa, half flour, and substituted pumpkin for the oil. They were just like chewy, double-chocolate cookies but good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've been looking for a home made version of granola bars for my kids & this is it! These were surprisingly good, although I had to tweak the recipe with what I had on-hand - dried cherries in place of raisins, almonds for the walnuts, egg beaters instead of egg whites, whole wheat flour, and blackberry jam for the prune puree. I also replaced a bit of flour with 10 grain breakfast cereal. My 2 & 7 year old liked these even though they were ugly (the jam made them greyish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States