Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I was trying to find something similar to the Quaker Oatmeal chocolate chip breakfast cookie, and this seemed close. I too tweaked it. I replaced half the flour with whole wheat, I added 1/2 cup powdered milk, 2 T gound almonds, 1T ground Flax seed just to up the nutrition since I made these for my kids. I replaced the water with apple juice, replaced prune puree with applesauce and added an additional 1/4 applesauce to compensate for the additional dry ingredients. I also used chocolate chips. I also pulverized the oatmeal so my kids wouldn't know it was made with oatmeal. I actually think these taste better than the quaker. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe! I made a couple of minor changes. The dough was really dry so I added a little bit more water. I also added a couple of Tbsp of peanut butter for more protein, then exchanged 1 cup whole wheat flour for white flour (can't even tell!). My 3 year old just ate two, and he doesn't normally eat raisins! I have been so bored with breakfast choices lately - this is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very Yummy. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 all purpose. Like others, I did not have the pureed prunes. I substitued pureed peaches (baby food) with great success. Next time I'll add more nuts! So many people asked me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good and a nice change of pace for kids' breakfast. As most do, I made a few alterations. I used about 3/4 applesauce in place of the prune puree. I ground the oats a little. Also omitted the dried apricots and walnuts. -->not for my kids :( Instead I used a full cup of raisins and a few milk chocolate chips for a hint of chocolate. (less than a 1/4 cup). I cut back on the sugar some since I was adding the chips. I also had to add a few drops of water to add a little moisture to stir the batter. Next time, I may add two of the egg yolks for a little added moisture, softness and protein. Also may add little apple chunks or pineapple chunks for variety. And could add some powdered milk for calcium or add flaxseed. The variations are endless! Anyway, very good recipe and the kids love them. They even asked for a few in their lunch! And still less sugar than most commercial cereals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I added 2/3 cup of cocoa powder, 1/2 cup of extra applesauce and two egg yolks. The cookies turn out more cake like and plump. Makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nichols
Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
these are great. Used extra prune puree... and used lots of dried fruit. Great for breakfast..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I REALLY love the healthiness factor of these - oil instead of butter, egg whites and all the healthy fruit and nuts - and they still have a great texture and taste! I used Smart Balance oil and did half whole wheat flour, half white. I also didn't have any prunes, so I used canned pumpkin, which worked great and added a lovely autumny color. I also didn't have apricots on hand... so I did a mixture of raisins, dried cherries, dried cranberries and walnuts. Oh and I added some peanut butter chips. ;-) I absolutely LOVE having these healthy little breakfast cakes - grab and go without the guilt! I keep thinking of other options/substitutes/add-ins; mashed bananas, applesauce as many of you mentioned instead of the prune puree...add-ins like chopped apples, a caramel or cream cheese glaze on top, chocolate chips, crushed bran flakes, peanut butter... the options go on and on! Two things tho: unless I'm missing something, there's no mention of adding the brown sugar in the instructions of the recipe, so don't forget that. Also, I noticed that they never really look "done" when they come out of the oven, which can encourage overbaking. You just have to trust that they're done and take them out, that way they'll remain soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used honey vs. sugar and added some dried blueberries and cranberries. I can't use walnuts or pecan due to allergies so I added some unsalted sunflower seeds. I send these out with my husband on the road (he's a truck driver). He loves them. It's amazing how some homemade foods portioned out and a vac. sealer can bring a bit of home out on the road!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is one of the Best Cookies I have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I just can't seem to mess these cookies up. Once I used prune juice instead of the puree and today I used a can of fruit cocktail that I pureed in the blender. I always use whole grain flour. They are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States