Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Really enjoyed!! Yum!! I am not sure if they are truly filling but they are definitely delicious! I made mine into bars instead of cookies and then just cut them into squares. I even froze half a batch to have at a later date. The dough is really hard to work with so bars are the way to go! Just spray the pan a bit first. Will make again and may eliminate or cut down the apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These cookies are actually very good - don't let the light and unappealing color of the photo fool you (sorry!) Mine were darker and looked more appetizing. I was nervous though, the dough was very sticky and tough to work with and when the cookies came out they smelled like raw flour and oats I was afraid I'd need to throw the whole thing out. But my kids and I loved them, very moist, flavorful and addicting! I used applesauce in place of the prune and cranberries, mini chocolate chips and pecans for my add-in. Love that you could really put in anything you want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Loved it -- super easy, quick to grab on the go. I'm adding more nuts and fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Pretty good. I used applesauce and pecans instead of prune juice and walnuts. The perfect baking time in my oven was 10 minutes, and these really do not spread at all, so I could still get 6 cookies to a cookie sheet. That was nice to cut down on the time I was in the kitchen baking them. Very hearty cookis, and soft, so I can see how they would be fun for breakfast. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Good cookies, a lot like muffin tops. Mine turned out a little too moist and stuck together in the container I kept them in. Love that I can add my own things like cranberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcooking1
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made these a few times and each time I add different things - dried blueberries, walnuts, pecans, raisins, flax, chia. So many differnt ways to go and I use whole wheat flour and also add apple sauce. They're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Not that these cookies need another review, but they are just SOOO good, I had to put my 2 cents in. I only made a few changes, based on other reviews that I read, I used 3c of whole wheat flour and 1c of all purpose flour. I used 2 whole eggs and 2 whites. I wanted some of the nutrients from the yolks and we are not watching our cholesterol. I also changed the add-ins based on what I had in the house. I used raisins, dry apples and white chocolate chips. They turned out so so delicious that it is hard to stop at one. I had to put them in the freezer (and they freeze and thaw beautifully) just to keep us from eating them all in one day! My one year old and my husband love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is great! Just what I was looking for. The first time I made these I used a bag of Trader Joe's dried cherries and berries in place of the raisins and apricots. Yum! I made these another time using pureed bananas (4 average sized) for the prune puree and skipped the water and used about 2 Tbs of oil. And added a bag of mini chocolate chips. They are to die for!! Thanks for a great recipe! Both times I used 3 C whole wheat flour and 1 C white. I made other subtle changes to suit my tastes, which I'm not going to bore everyone with. I think it's rather arrogant to completely re-write a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Added a little apple sauce with the prune puree and chocolate chips. Baked for about 12 minutes and they are still chewy. I would also like to try pumpkin or honey flavors which I think would complement the other flavors in this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I was trying to find something similar to the Quaker Oatmeal chocolate chip breakfast cookie, and this seemed close. I too tweaked it. I replaced half the flour with whole wheat, I added 1/2 cup powdered milk, 2 T gound almonds, 1T ground Flax seed just to up the nutrition since I made these for my kids. I replaced the water with apple juice, replaced prune puree with applesauce and added an additional 1/4 applesauce to compensate for the additional dry ingredients. I also used chocolate chips. I also pulverized the oatmeal so my kids wouldn't know it was made with oatmeal. I actually think these taste better than the quaker. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States