Best Bread Machine Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Well it certainly doesn't look like the picture up there (I don't think that much bread will fit in a machine) however, it did come out very good. I'm trying it again today with Bread flour and Cinnamon to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
On my third loaf now, I used a bit more yeast, a bit more salt, melted better instead of oil and cheddar and bacon bits. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I've made this bread 3 times this week since coming across the recipe for my hubbie, 2 year old, and myself, and we aren't the 'bread with every dinner, sandwich every day for lunch' type of people-it's so good! I make it exactly as the recipe says, using either olive oil or vegetable oil, although I may try butter next time to see how it turns out. I have been making bread for a long time, but not so long that I was turned away by the mixing method. I make the dough in my machine then put it in a 9x5 pan (the Gold ones from Williams-Sonoma are fantastic), let it rise again then bake at 350. Even the first loaf I made that I forgot to let rise turned out pretty well, just more dense. Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This really is the best bread! I followed the directions, using Active Dry yeast mixed with the warm water and sugar in the pan prior to adding the remaining ingredients. Instead of vegetable oil, I used olive oil because it is what I had on hand. Even my 9-year old, who hasn't been a fan of my homemade bread, told me it tasted like store bought. Thank you so much for this recipe! I'm already making a second loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made for the first time today using an Oster bread machine. The bread came out as advertised. There was one minor problem. The bread machine has three settings for doneness LIght, Medium and Dark. Not knowing how this recipe would respond to these settings I selected medium. When time was up the loaf was nearly white. Since the bread machine did not allow the time cycle to be over ridden i.e. adding another 10 minutes to the baking cycle, I took the loaf pan out of the machine and placed it in my regular oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. It came out a perfect brown color just as bread should be. Other then that making bread in a machine is a simple as it can be. Having made bread the old fashion way the machine takes all the work and time out of making home made bread. The only down side of a bread machine is the paddle getting stuck in the bottom of the loaf. Next time I do this recipe will place the machine on DOUGH ONLY setting. Then will transfer the dough into a regular loaf pan for baking. That will make a traditionally looking loaf. The bread tastes great! Nice brown crust with a wonderful light, soft texture inside. BTW, did not use canola since one comment cautioned against it. Use safflower oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I saved this recipe before my bread maker died but I wanted to try it anyway. I didn't change any of the ingredients. I used canola oil. The method had to change of course. For those without a bread maker - this is how it can be done. Whisk the water, yeast and 1/2 cup flour together. Let sit for 10 mins. Add all other ingredients and in a Kitchen Aide, fitted with a bread hook , knead for 10 mins scraping the side of the bowl if needed. Wipe out bowl and drizzle with olive oil, place dough in bowl and turn to coat and let rise for about 1 hour. After it has risen form loaf and let rise again. Brush with well beaten egg and a little water. Bake. This was so moist and tasty. Thanks Shecooks2, this will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Have tried various bread machine recipes and I must admit this is best by FAR. The loaf went the same day and its now a regular in my house. Even my fussy eating children love it. I followed the method to the t even doubting the packaged yeast process but it works beautifully and I think makes the difference to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Have to say I've been avoiding this recipe for awhile. But when you get to the store and pay over $3 for a loaf of bread you re-organize cabinets. Excellent results! My new best friend! I need to play with it to make rolls then shoot my keyboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roseandfranco
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I agree with ICYBLUEROSE I used 1.5 tsp of salt instead of 1tsp. It was the only bread that rose to the top and it is wonderful! I'm so grateful for this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I haven't made this recipe yet. Just wondering why you use rapid rise yeast but don't use the rapid bake setting. Before I make it I want to be sure I am using the right setting. I just bought the cuisinart bread machine and the first two loaves were pretty heavy and dense. The third loaf I made I used the rapid rise recipe and it is kind of small but tastes pretty good. I think the water perhaps could have been warmer. I put it in the microwave to warm up but wasn't close to 100 degrees. Probably 70 degrees. I hope I get a response here. I can't wait to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States