Best Bread Machine Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This really is the best bread! I followed the directions, using Active Dry yeast mixed with the warm water and sugar in the pan prior to adding the remaining ingredients. Instead of vegetable oil, I used olive oil because it is what I had on hand. Even my 9-year old, who hasn't been a fan of my homemade bread, told me it tasted like store bought. Thank you so much for this recipe! I'm already making a second loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Made for the first time today using an Oster bread machine. The bread came out as advertised. There was one minor problem. The bread machine has three settings for doneness LIght, Medium and Dark. Not knowing how this recipe would respond to these settings I selected medium. When time was up the loaf was nearly white. Since the bread machine did not allow the time cycle to be over ridden i.e. adding another 10 minutes to the baking cycle, I took the loaf pan out of the machine and placed it in my regular oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. It came out a perfect brown color just as bread should be. Other then that making bread in a machine is a simple as it can be. Having made bread the old fashion way the machine takes all the work and time out of making home made bread. The only down side of a bread machine is the paddle getting stuck in the bottom of the loaf. Next time I do this recipe will place the machine on DOUGH ONLY setting. Then will transfer the dough into a regular loaf pan for baking. That will make a traditionally looking loaf. The bread tastes great! Nice brown crust with a wonderful light, soft texture inside. BTW, did not use canola since one comment cautioned against it. Use safflower oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I saved this recipe before my bread maker died but I wanted to try it anyway. I didn't change any of the ingredients. I used canola oil. The method had to change of course. For those without a bread maker - this is how it can be done. Whisk the water, yeast and 1/2 cup flour together. Let sit for 10 mins. Add all other ingredients and in a Kitchen Aide, fitted with a bread hook , knead for 10 mins scraping the side of the bowl if needed. Wipe out bowl and drizzle with olive oil, place dough in bowl and turn to coat and let rise for about 1 hour. After it has risen form loaf and let rise again. Brush with well beaten egg and a little water. Bake. This was so moist and tasty. Thanks Shecooks2, this will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Have tried various bread machine recipes and I must admit this is best by FAR. The loaf went the same day and its now a regular in my house. Even my fussy eating children love it. I followed the method to the t even doubting the packaged yeast process but it works beautifully and I think makes the difference to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Have to say I've been avoiding this recipe for awhile. But when you get to the store and pay over $3 for a loaf of bread you re-organize cabinets. Excellent results! My new best friend! I need to play with it to make rolls then shoot my keyboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roseandfranco
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I agree with ICYBLUEROSE I used 1.5 tsp of salt instead of 1tsp. It was the only bread that rose to the top and it is wonderful! I'm so grateful for this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I haven't made this recipe yet. Just wondering why you use rapid rise yeast but don't use the rapid bake setting. Before I make it I want to be sure I am using the right setting. I just bought the cuisinart bread machine and the first two loaves were pretty heavy and dense. The third loaf I made I used the rapid rise recipe and it is kind of small but tastes pretty good. I think the water perhaps could have been warmer. I put it in the microwave to warm up but wasn't close to 100 degrees. Probably 70 degrees. I hope I get a response here. I can't wait to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used 2.5 c bread flour and .5 c rye flour, added caraway seeds. Also Dec yeast to 2 top and Inc salt to 1.5 tsp. PERFECTION. Soft in middle and crew crust, better than what you get at the market. I took out of bread machine for the 3rd rise and baked in oven at 350 for 30 minutes as I wanted regular bread shape and I don't like the paddle stuck in bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Eminson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I decided I was going to buy a bread machine and start making our own bread. I researched and purchased a very expensive machine that was supposed to be as "easy as adding the ingredients." This recipe went against every recipe I have tried and the manufactor's strict warnings. I figured, though, not one of those recipes had worked so I would try this one. I made a promise to myself that if this loaf of bread did not turn out, I was taking the machine to the Goodwill. I was so tired of the disappointment of taking the loaf out and having it be HARD as a rock. I wanted to let anyone know that this recipe is easy, restores your confidence, and works perfectly. Thank you so much! I am going to throw out all those other recipes and just use this one. I followed the directions to the exact specifications and it was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
My bread machine also instructs users to prevent the yeast from coming in contact with water prior to mixing and kneading. I, however, followed the recipe as written (aside from adding an extra half teaspoon of salt). The temperature of the water is very important too. This recipe was so easy. I set the bread machine as directed and left it alone. My family loved it on its own, plain! The outside was crusty but the inside was heavenly soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States