Best Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Unusual and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana C
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the very first time I had ever made or eaten bobotie, but my whole family really enjoyed it! I almost always substitute ground turkey for ground beef, and in this case I used a whole two pounds of the turkey. The only other difference was that I reduced the cooking time. I just baked mine right in a cast-iron skillet for about 45 minutes before adding the egg and then cooking it for another 25 minutes. This turned out just right, and if I had cooked it much longer, it probably would have burned. This really is an excellent recipe! I am happy that I stumbled upon it and we will definitely be having this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Oh my goodness. I would NEVER have thought of putting an egg custard on top of this dish. I have also never eaten minced beef quite as sweet as this. I didn't have any chutney or jam, but used peach jelly as a substitute for both, and it turned out awesome. I surprised my wife with this recipe, as she works longer hours than me. She loved it, as did the kids. I served it with roast potatoes and minted peas, and now have my extended family hooked on it too. I am now going to try other South African recipes because this one was a real surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Super easy and taste great! I m a South African living abroad and regularly impresses guests with this recipe combined with the South African Yellow Rice also on this site. Ideal when served with a tablespoon serving of mango chutney as well as sliced bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very good. I had a dish very similar to this a couple of times recently while on a safari. Easy to make and wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
at our African themed potluck, this was one of the best dishes at the table! I used peach jam instead of apricot (and really think that for a teaspoon, any jam would work fine) and used extra because I left out the chutney. it continues to be requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
One of my employees introduced me to some African dishes...now I'm obsessed. The Bobotie is awesome! Very easy to make. Meatloaf on steroids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I have used other bobotie recipes, but this one is my favorite. The ingredients blend well for an interesting flavor. As mentioned in other reviews, I used a smaller baking dish because I didn't want the meat to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Recipe! My husband is from Cape Town, South Africa and so It really reminded him of home. Only suggestion would be to use a smaller pan than a 9x13..Otherwise it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalee17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. I used a milder mango chutney because I no not like things too spicy. I was hesitant to add the egg mixture but it added just the right amount of creamy gooness. I did add 2 tbsp of flour to the eggs so it would not be too runny. FABULOUS! I will maked this again and again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States