Best Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The only change I made to this recipe was to subsitute an extra 1 tsp of chutney to replace the teaspoon of apricot jam since I didn't have any. The flavor was very good but it was too dry and almost burnt from baking for so long. When I make it again I'll use a 2 quart casserole instead of a 3 quart. I'll also shorten the baking time from 1 hour to 1/2 an hour before adding the egg mixture and then continue to bake for only 15-20 minutes after adding the egg mixture. I'd also add another egg to the milk to make it thicker. This really does have great flavor and I definitely recommend it with the above changes. ***Update: I made this recipe again with the changes I suggested. We all loved it! The bobotie was moist and delicious. I've passed the recipe along to family who also love it. I'd give it the recipe five stars with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Oh my goodness. I would NEVER have thought of putting an egg custard on top of this dish. I have also never eaten minced beef quite as sweet as this. I didn't have any chutney or jam, but used peach jelly as a substitute for both, and it turned out awesome. I surprised my wife with this recipe, as she works longer hours than me. She loved it, as did the kids. I served it with roast potatoes and minted peas, and now have my extended family hooked on it too. I am now going to try other South African recipes because this one was a real surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Super easy and taste great! I m a South African living abroad and regularly impresses guests with this recipe combined with the South African Yellow Rice also on this site. Ideal when served with a tablespoon serving of mango chutney as well as sliced bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Try sticking a few lemon leaves into the bobotie so that it just sticks out on top, before the bobotie goes into the oven(about 3 leaves).It just add to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very good. I had a dish very similar to this a couple of times recently while on a safari. Easy to make and wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. I used a milder mango chutney because I no not like things too spicy. I was hesitant to add the egg mixture but it added just the right amount of creamy gooness. I did add 2 tbsp of flour to the eggs so it would not be too runny. FABULOUS! I will maked this again and again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
at our African themed potluck, this was one of the best dishes at the table! I used peach jam instead of apricot (and really think that for a teaspoon, any jam would work fine) and used extra because I left out the chutney. it continues to be requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe had very interesting flavor, but the cooking time needs to be reduced by almost half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To avoid excessive sweetness, increase the amount of Chutney from one to three tablespoons, and eliminate the jam. (Jam is an American addition, not a part of the original recipe). A little sugar is ok to balance the curry and other spices, but not the fruit. Our recipe is based on 2 lbs of lean ground beef - or lamb w/ the bread. The diced onion browned in oil, 3 T of curry powder, 3 T of chutney (chopped fine), 3 T vinegar, ½ t salt, 1 T sugar, 1 diced apple, ½ C raisins, and many bay leaves - stuck into the top like pegs, milk on top as described. Bake at 325-350 for 35-40 min - use a thermometer so you don't cook it to death! Center wants to be med/rare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Recipe! My husband is from Cape Town, South Africa and so It really reminded him of home. Only suggestion would be to use a smaller pan than a 9x13..Otherwise it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalee17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States