Best Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Oh my goodness. I would NEVER have thought of putting an egg custard on top of this dish. I have also never eaten minced beef quite as sweet as this. I didn't have any chutney or jam, but used peach jelly as a substitute for both, and it turned out awesome. I surprised my wife with this recipe, as she works longer hours than me. She loved it, as did the kids. I served it with roast potatoes and minted peas, and now have my extended family hooked on it too. I am now going to try other South African recipes because this one was a real surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The only change I made to this recipe was to subsitute an extra 1 tsp of chutney to replace the teaspoon of apricot jam since I didn't have any. The flavor was very good but it was too dry and almost burnt from baking for so long. When I make it again I'll use a 2 quart casserole instead of a 3 quart. I'll also shorten the baking time from 1 hour to 1/2 an hour before adding the egg mixture and then continue to bake for only 15-20 minutes after adding the egg mixture. I'd also add another egg to the milk to make it thicker. This really does have great flavor and I definitely recommend it with the above changes. ***Update: I made this recipe again with the changes I suggested. We all loved it! The bobotie was moist and delicious. I've passed the recipe along to family who also love it. I'd give it the recipe five stars with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Try sticking a few lemon leaves into the bobotie so that it just sticks out on top, before the bobotie goes into the oven(about 3 leaves).It just add to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Super easy and taste great! I m a South African living abroad and regularly impresses guests with this recipe combined with the South African Yellow Rice also on this site. Ideal when served with a tablespoon serving of mango chutney as well as sliced bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very good. I had a dish very similar to this a couple of times recently while on a safari. Easy to make and wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
at our African themed potluck, this was one of the best dishes at the table! I used peach jam instead of apricot (and really think that for a teaspoon, any jam would work fine) and used extra because I left out the chutney. it continues to be requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Unusual and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe had very interesting flavor, but the cooking time needs to be reduced by almost half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
One of my employees introduced me to some African dishes...now I'm obsessed. The Bobotie is awesome! Very easy to make. Meatloaf on steroids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A little too sweet for my liking, but my boyfriend came up with a brilliant idea to spread the apricot jam on top and serve it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States