Best Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except added 1/2 tsp vanilla to the butter/sugar/egg/milk combination, but that is a "given" in baking at my house. It was delicious! Cake was a wonderful complement to the fresh blueberries. Didn't take long and was easy to make. Great with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skyhawk45
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is one of those rare recipes that on its face are simple, yet yield elegant, tasty results. In other words, it’s a great recipe. Let me add some comments/observations. Don't be fooled by the batter! It is stiff as noted in the description. You may think you've done something wrong, but the relative lack of liquid in proportion to the dry ingredients makes it that way. Just put the dough in the center of the pan and spread to the sides with a large spatula or back of a spoon. The cooking time (40 minutes) is just right and yields a wonderful texture. Like most here, we "tweak" recipes. My only one I used was to substitute Turbinato for the granulated sugar in the topping. That was the only off recipe ingredient. It made a more crunchy top. As for the results, it is a lovely cake. My wife, who was born and raised in the Canadian Maritimes where this is popular exclaimed "...this is home." That makes any cooks day! Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! The only thing is there were more blueberries than flour??? I doubled the recipe and only used 3 cups of flour but people loved it just as much without all the blueberries. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I found this recipe while looking for a blueberry cobbler recipe. I really like this method of baking in a spring form pan.The finished product looks very appealing and slices nicely into neat wedges. I followed the recipe exactly except I used blueberries I had frozen back in the summer (I let them thaw about half way). I had to bake it a bit longer because of this. The result is just sweet simple goodness. We had it as a dessert with vanilla ice cream. Not overly rich and sweet. ...about like a muffin. It would be great as a brunch cake. The crispy crumb topping makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVED, this recipe!!!!!!! It was so moist and fluffy, and it was definitely worth the time. One recommendation I have is that...don't be worried if the mixture looks and feels thick, it's supposed to be like that. Perfect, as is, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made this to take to a potluck and it was great. Chose to make this recipe instead of another because of the smaller amount of sugar in the crumble. Even though I spilled the milk and wasn't sure about the amount I lost (I added what I thought would make up for it). These would probably make great cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tigerindy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKYKAMP2
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Awesome! The topping makes this something special. Could not stop eating it. I added just a "smidge" of almond extract to the batter. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe. I accidently doubled the butter and it was still so good. I think my family will love it. I used a bigger springform pan so mine was only about 3 inches high but looks beautiful and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States