Best Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except added 1/2 tsp vanilla to the butter/sugar/egg/milk combination, but that is a "given" in baking at my house. It was delicious! Cake was a wonderful complement to the fresh blueberries. Didn't take long and was easy to make. Great with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skyhawk45
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is one of those rare recipes that on its face are simple, yet yield elegant, tasty results. In other words, it’s a great recipe. Let me add some comments/observations. Don't be fooled by the batter! It is stiff as noted in the description. You may think you've done something wrong, but the relative lack of liquid in proportion to the dry ingredients makes it that way. Just put the dough in the center of the pan and spread to the sides with a large spatula or back of a spoon. The cooking time (40 minutes) is just right and yields a wonderful texture. Like most here, we "tweak" recipes. My only one I used was to substitute Turbinato for the granulated sugar in the topping. That was the only off recipe ingredient. It made a more crunchy top. As for the results, it is a lovely cake. My wife, who was born and raised in the Canadian Maritimes where this is popular exclaimed "...this is home." That makes any cooks day! Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! The only thing is there were more blueberries than flour??? I doubled the recipe and only used 3 cups of flour but people loved it just as much without all the blueberries. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMB
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
After picking 12 pounds of blueberries yesterday, I was looking for some new ways to use them and this crumble caught my eye! I gave this recipe a try this afternoon and am very pleased with the results. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of adding one teaspoon of vanilla to the egg/butter/sugar/milk mixture. I also added extra cinnamon to the crumble part and baked it for 45 minutes. I don't own a springform pan, so I baked this in a bundt pan instead. I inverted the bundt pan onto a wire cooling rack within minutes of pulling it out of the oven, let it cool for about 20 minutes, then inverted it onto a plate so the crunchy crumble would be on the top. This recipe is a quick, easy, delicious keeper! Thank you, Cristina! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKYKAMP2
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Awesome! The topping makes this something special. Could not stop eating it. I added just a "smidge" of almond extract to the batter. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I struggled on the 3rd step of the recipe. I threw out the batter twice as I couldn't get it fluffy .I just couldn't figure out what was wrong? could it be i use low fat milk?? every time i added the milk gradually, it curdles... The third try I still couldn't get it right but decided to just follow through the recipe. The dough was so thick and yes,i thought this is so wrong BUT it turn out very nice!My whole family loved it.. And the baking smell that filled up the air in my whole kitchen was wonderful ! Should have just gone through the 1st attempt. Definitely going to this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Couldn't get the milk, egg, sugar, butter combo "fluffy", but turned out great nonetheless. Absolutely delicious. Followed receipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I followed the directions with a few changes. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I followed the suggestions of other reviews and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon teaspoon of almond extract to the butter, sugar and egg mixture. Great recipe. I used fresh blueberries we had just picked from Martin Blueberries. The house smells so good right now!I will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great Recipe! Easy, Beautiful and delicious! So good I made it again two days later. Added 1 tsp vanilla and almond extract as well as 1/2 cup applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe and one of the few that I don't have to tweak. It is perfect as is. Yes, the dough is very thick and you think you are doing something wrong, but have trust in the recipe, it will turn out perfectly. Hubby requests this recipe every year that blueberries are in season and he is not a "Sweets" kind of guy. Also, I do not have a spring form pan, so I make it in an 8"x8" square pan or a round cake pan and it turns out great. If you want to display the cake first before cutting, then a spring form pan is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States