Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Easy. I didn't mean to, but I ate the whole pot. I added 1T chili powder and lime juice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Easy way to dress up a simple can of beans. I've had them in my cabinet for a while, but didn't want to fix them plain. I used KitchenDiva's advice - cooking the onion and garlic before adding the beans, and replaced the juice with chicken broth. I didn't measure out the cayenne, but I wish I had since we couldn't even taste it. Husband and I both liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I thought this turned out pretty good. super easy. I did have to add a bit more seasoning for my taste and didn't have cayenne pepper so i used taco seasoning. I actually ended up adding a some shredded cheese then dipped chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekfrisk
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Yes, HBschoolgirl, this is a perfectly good alternative to homemade! Kudos to Cameron for adding the cayenne and fresh cilantro (nice touch) and being creative. I use canned beans occasionally and appreciate the convenience. Good job, Cameron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I boil the beans with salt until they are tender, about 2 hours, adding water when needed. I chopped a chunk of onion, two garlic cloves and I fry this until is almost burn. I add some beans and some beans juice, mash them a little and fry this for about 20 min. Return this fry beans to the beans pot and boil this for about 1/2 hour. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Mena
Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I add a dash of cumin to these to enhance the flavor just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I make this frequently but I add 1 tsp of oregano to add some zip. j
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I took the advice of others and sauteed the onions a bit first. I also lightly mashed some of the beans with the back of a cooking spoon for some texture towards the end and also simmered this a bit longer than stated. I did not have cilantro so omitted it. Definitely going to be a regular on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Not bad, but I added some chili powder; also added some fresh lime juice and used chicken (could use veggie) stock during cooking, reduced and mashed a portion of the beans. Added cilantro last. Then these were the "best black beans"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I added chopped green peppers. I saute the onions and peppers, then added the beans and cilatro. that is the way we always did it back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States