Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I rarely use canned goods anymore, but I decided to try this recipe and it was delicious. I only used a very small amount of yellow onion, chopped fine, included one green onion, chopped thin, and quickly sauteed those with the garlic in a drop of olive oil just to make the flavors burst. It was spectacular! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Perfect and easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Loved it. I served over coconut rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Healthy, taste great and quick to make. 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This works even when you don't have fresh cilantro--adding citrus peel, or tumeric, or sour cream (greek yogurt), or a pat of butter, you get the idea, give you endless variations! I drained off most of the starch by rinsing as kitchendiva suggested of the canned beans first before cooking to help the other flavors come thru. I have vegetarian and non-vegetarian family to cook for, and on those nights when I make a meat entree (chicken curry) this is one of the easiest and quickest way to add a good protein for my veggie guy With the rice and chutneys that are curry sides, this is perfect and actually finish up the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great! Like another reviewer advised I added a little chicken broth, also added a little salsa. Made for my Mother and Father on Christmas Eve, my Mother told me afterwards that she had never liked black beans and she just tried them to be polite. After trying them she went back for seconds and has made them herself since that night! Awesome recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good as written, better than most restaurant fare, yet still needed a little something to really make it sing. I added 1/8 teaspoon cumin to increase the Mexican profile, and a splash of lime juice for zing. The cilantro went in right before serving to keep it's flavor bright. I garnished each serving with queso fresco for flair. Result? The Best Black Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved the flavor of these black beans! I subbed cumin for the cilantro because my fiance and I aren't big cilantro fans, and I didn't add any salt. I would recommend cutting the onion way down, though. I used less than half a large onion instead of a whole small one, but it still seemed like I was having beans with my onions. About a quarter of a large onion would be plenty OR you could double the beans since they will be great as leftovers. Thanks for sharing! This is in my permanent rotation since we are big south-of-the-border food lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was pretty good, but WAY too much cilantro and way too much garlic. U need to double the amount of black beans and 1/3 of the cilantro and garlic it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
yummy! I sauteed the onions and garlic in a bit of olive oil and then added the black beans. also added some cumin and a bay leaf and cooked for a bit longer than in recipe. served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States