Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Best black bean recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen w

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't give this recipe 5 stars because I did make some changes. This recipe is very simple, and may be great as written, but I think it needs a bit more flavor. I used cooked, dried black beans that I had soaked and cooked the previous day, and poured off some of the cooking liquid so that the beans were just covered. I don't rinse black beans that I cook because I feel that some of the nutrients of the beans are in the cooking liquid. Rinsing them after the soak eliminates the "gas" problem. In addition to the onion and garlic, I added lemon juice, fresh ground cumin, black seed (because I didn't have enough ground cumin), and apple cider vinegar. I brought this to a boil, and then let it simmer on a medium-low heat for about 45 minutes so that all of the flavors would blend. I made a large quantity, and will freeze it in portions for use as a side dish and to use in burritos and enchiladas. I think these beans would also be good if mashed and used to make re-fried black beans. The flavor is absolutely wonderful, and it's a great way to introduce nutritious beans into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Family liked this recipe. Made with rice and chicken enciladas. Saute onion and garlic first. Added additional garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It's a decent recipe... the kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Easy and tasted great. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Rated 3 stars for recipe "as is" because using the canned liquid is yucky. But with the tweeks others suggested, I give 5 stars as an delicious way to do black beans. First I cooked diced onions in butter until caramelized, added lots of fresh garlic, seasoned with S/P, 1 tsp cumin, and 1Tblsp hot chili powder because that's what I had on hand. Then used chicken broth as liquid with the rinsed beans.... Brought to boil, simmered covered about 30 mins, then cooked uncovered til thickened. Dressed with fresh cilantro and squeeze of lime before serving. It was a hit with my friends and family for Mexican night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Simple, fast and tastes great. The cayenne pepper is a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelUpSideDownCake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was really good! I drained and rinsed my beans and replaced the liquid with water and a veggie stock cube. It was delicious over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was really simple and delicious. My first time picky eaters and 3 year old twin daughters even ate it. I'm a stickler for flavor and this had just the right amount to go with my burritos. The only thing I changed was the cloves of garlic, I put a pinch of garlic powder in instead and I microwaved them for 5 mins. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Renea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States