Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These are delicious! However, I wish I had read a few other reviews before making them. I always drain and rinse my beans before using them. I failed to make up for the loss of the liquid by adding some back in. Next time I'll use some broth. Otherwise, the flavors are great and the recipe is very quick and easy. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami's Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love, Love, Love these! I make them all the time, and especially like to eat a steamy bowl of these spicy beans with a piece of pita bread for lunch. I do change the recipe a little, although it is good as written. I sweat my onions in olive oil (1.5 T) for about 8-10 minutes, until they are slightly softened but not fully cooked. While those sweat I rinse a can of black beans thoroughly (leave the beans in the can and just keep adding water until it drains clear). Once beans are clean add enough broth (whatever kind you have) to fill the can back up. When onions are just barely starting to brown add 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp cayenne, and cilantro (which I increase to 1/3c. chopped), cook for another minute and then add your can of beans in broth. Bring mixture to a simmer and allow to simmer until liquid is cooked down to a desired consistency, about 10 minutes(leave 'em soupier if you want to soak up the broth with bread, or cook 'em longer to make them creamier if you want to use them as a side dish), add more salt to taste if needed. I serve with a little fresh chopped cilantro on top. These are truly the best black beans ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
LOVE! I make black beans all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These beans have replaced baked beans at our house. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I usually skip the cayenne & put a few teaspoons of salsa in instead. If it says a whole onion, I don't use that much. About 1/2 an onion for 1 can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So simple and good. Loved it! Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yum!!!Great & super easy vegan dish. I added 1/2 cube of veggie broth, 1/4 cup water, & chopped up chili peppers to the recipe, which turned out to be delicious!!! I can probably eat this every evening!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Pretty good. Hubby liked it more than I did. I loved the onions and the cilantro gave it an interesting flavor. Will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I thought this was ok. It was definitely easy to make and very quick, although I had to cook mine a little longer to get the onions cooked a little more. I think this had a little too much onions though. If I make this again, I'll have to cut back on the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
delicious. took the advice of another reviewer: sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil first, added 1 cup of chicken broth, then seasonings and drained, rinsed beans. intended as a filler for an already great meal, these were easily my favorite thing on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States