Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This dish was only ok, and I will not make it again but will make try other recipes. It worked well when used in a burrito with the Best Spanish Rice recipe from this site (which is very good), some bbq sauce, shredded lettuce, and more chopped cilantro. I tasted it before adding lime juice, and it was definitely helped by the lime juice. One cup of dried beans soaked over night, then cooked, created the right amount of beans for this recipe. I did brown my onions first and then added garlic and then beans like a reviewer suggested. I do agree that a longer simmer time is necessary--though in my case since I wasn't used canned bean liquid, it was more a longer cooking time (I did throw in a bit of water if it started to look dry). This is an easy and serviceable recipe, but I will keep looking for something really excellent that can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very good. I made a few minor changes: sauteed the onions for a few minutes before adding garlic (for another minute or two) then beans. I added a small chopped tomato with the cilantro, and I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of cilantro because I love the flavor. I also added a little bit of diced jalapeno instead of cayenne. Finally, I simmered for 15 minutes or so to boil off some of the additional liquid from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The kids liked the beans, but for me it didn't have enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Tasted like they had been simmering all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
So simple but super tasty. Sauteed the onion and garlic in a little olive oil beforehand and used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the liquid from the can (that seemed kind of gross to me). Simmered for a while as I was making the rest of dinner, probably 20min total. Next time I think I'll throw some corn in. Excellent, simple way to spice up a can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Didn't have cilantro but I did have some fresh roasted tomato salsa from Bristol Farms, so I threw that in and let it all simmer. Fantastic and SUPER easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrazani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I thought these were excellent and the kids at them. Worth making again. Try chopping onion smaller. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I got tired of refried beans as a side every time we made Mexican food. LOVE this recipe! Mixed it with leftover taco meat and homemade spanish rice for lunch for two days after!! MMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILBARSHARINAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Perfect as written. Loved it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Oh yum. These were delicious! I made a few minor changes ... first, I used green onions instead of white (just personal preference). Second, I drained and rinsed the beans first and replaced the liquid with chicken broth (I just don't like the liquid in the can). YUM! Even (most of) my kids asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States