Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I make this frequently but I add 1 tsp of oregano to add some zip. j
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I took the advice of others and sauteed the onions a bit first. I also lightly mashed some of the beans with the back of a cooking spoon for some texture towards the end and also simmered this a bit longer than stated. I did not have cilantro so omitted it. Definitely going to be a regular on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Not bad, but I added some chili powder; also added some fresh lime juice and used chicken (could use veggie) stock during cooking, reduced and mashed a portion of the beans. Added cilantro last. Then these were the "best black beans"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I added chopped green peppers. I saute the onions and peppers, then added the beans and cilatro. that is the way we always did it back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I tried this because another review said that they didn't like black beans but loved this. Well, I do like black beans and didnt really care for this. I think the proportions of onion & cilantro were way too much. I'll keep looking... Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
MMMM. Very tasty- I added some bacon to the pan first- cooked until browned- then simmered the beans and mashed them- like restaurant quality! Wonderful on tortilla chips. Vegans and Vegetarians can omit the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Good side dish or taco/burrito add-in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good, not the best ever or anything but very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
So good! Rinsed the beans and put them back in the can and then poured chicken broth into the can until full to replace the liquid. Didn't add as much onion. Added some cumin because we like it. Thank you for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This dish was only ok, and I will not make it again but will make try other recipes. It worked well when used in a burrito with the Best Spanish Rice recipe from this site (which is very good), some bbq sauce, shredded lettuce, and more chopped cilantro. I tasted it before adding lime juice, and it was definitely helped by the lime juice. One cup of dried beans soaked over night, then cooked, created the right amount of beans for this recipe. I did brown my onions first and then added garlic and then beans like a reviewer suggested. I do agree that a longer simmer time is necessary--though in my case since I wasn't used canned bean liquid, it was more a longer cooking time (I did throw in a bit of water if it started to look dry). This is an easy and serviceable recipe, but I will keep looking for something really excellent that can stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States