Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Easy and tasty! I always pour canned beans in a sieve or colander and rinse well under running water; this step does away with the "gas problem" a lot of people experience after eating beans. Works like a charm! I then use a can of beef or chicken broth to replace the liquid. Also, I fry the onions until soft and almost browned, add the garlic and saute for just 15 - 20 seconds more, then add the broth and simmer until ready to serve, at which time you would add the cilantro. This was a method that a Cuban neighbor taught me for an even tastier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1027 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I just tried this recipe with fantastic results! I made a few modifications and additions, however. I used fresh black beans I prepared in the morning and replaced cayenne with a dash of chili powder. Then I allowed everything to simmer for about 15 minutes for the flavors to infuse and blossom. :P At about 15 mins, I added my secret ingredient: the juice of a lime and proceeded to simmer for about 5-10 mins more. The lime juice tied everything together nicely! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
744 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frosm (Jazz)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This was so good. I let the beans simmer on very low heat for about 15 minutes so that all the flavors would blend together well. I think 5 minutes is not enough, IMHO. The only variation I made to the recipe was adding some fresh ground black pepper along with the salt. I used this dish to create the best bean burritos I’ve ever tasted - 1/4 cup "best black beans" + 1/4 cup shredded cheese + 2 Tbs. fresh salsa wrapped up in a flour tortilla, then heated in a skillet (or microwave if you just can’t wait). I then topped it off with some green onions and sour cream. Mmmm. Perfect for vegetarians, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Who would have ever thought a can of dressed up beans could taste so darn good! Not your typical mushy beans sitting along a side of mushy Mexican rice. Just perfect, and as written. Served this with Chicken Kabobs Mexicana and Mexican Rice III. Can't even begin to describe what a delicious part of this delicious meal this simple bean dish was. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I have been using this site for almost 7 years, and I have never had occasion to write about a recipe, because they usually involve too many revisions. This recipe, however, was AWESOME, just as is. It's not for you, if you don't like cilantro, though, as that provides most of the flavor. We love cilantro, so it was perfect for us. The hubby inhaled his portion, and when I asked him if he liked it, he said it was a keeper. If you only knew how finicky the hubby was, you'd know this is a tremendous complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I always use organic black beans and rinse them really well before using them in any recipe. I've made these a couple times now--I make them a little more "me" by sauteing the onion and garlic in a little bacon grease, then adding the rest of the ingredients. We all love this, especially my eight year old son who ate every bit of his portion on his plate and asked for mine. I know better now to just double this straight off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Wow - these definitely are some of the "Best Black Beans" I've had in a while! It sort of reminds me of something I had in a restaurant as a side dish a while back, but better! Who knew something so easy could taste so good - plus it's good for you too! Excellent served warm with a dollup of sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I have been looking for an easy black bean recipe to serve with Mexican Food and this is it! I added the juice from 1/2 a lime and it was perfect. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Definitely a keeper, my husband raved over this recipe. I added some cumin and fresh tomatoes then used the leftovers for black bean burritos! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I had one lone can of black beans sitting around forever after countless disappointing bean recipes. FINALLY I found a keeper that received raves all around. I, too, brought the cayenne to boil with the beans, onion and garlic and allowed them to simmer 20 minutes before adding the cilantro. Bullseye. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States