Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great! I used canned beans, sauted a little onion and garlic. Do not omit fresh cilantro! I will make this part of the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These beans have a lot of flavor--loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great flavor for such a simple recipe. I took others' recommendations and rinsed the beans and used about 1/3-1/2 cup of chicken brother. IMO, 5 mins is not nearly long enough to cook the onions. I ended up simmering the beans for about 15 mins with a lid on the pot, then I took the lid off and simmered an additional 5 mins to thicken everything up. I added the cayenne with the garlic and onions, and stirred in the cilantro right before serving. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were amazing, and I even used dried cilantro since I didn't have any fresh on hand. I can only imagine what they taste like with fresh! I thought "this recipe is way too simple to produce great black beans." I was way wrong, they taste just like they're from a mexican restaurant! I did follow other reviewers suggestions and rinsed the beans then used chicken broth as a simmering liquid. The next day I combined the leftovers with white rice & other mexi toppings for a great burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerra Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Quick and tasty. Added a squeeze of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Followed the tip of sauteing the onions first and replacing the water from the can with a little chicken broth. Delicious beans. Made it first with black beans and second with pinto beans. So good. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I make this often as a side item for tacos or fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
It was good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
simple and delicious! i followed the recommendations of other reviewers; drained and rinsed the beans and substituted homemade chicken broth for the liquid. i also simmered for approximately 15minutes to allow more time for the flavors to come together. this was an excellent side dish for dinner last night. i'm generally not a fan of beans, but enjoyed the flavors of this dish. i'll be adding this recipe to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Wow, these were from a can? Weird how such a simple recipe can end up tasting so good. Great for a quick weeknight dinner. Made this with the Simple Carnitas and Camp Cornbread recipes from this site. Delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States