Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I have been looking for an easy black bean recipe to serve with Mexican Food and this is it! I added the juice from 1/2 a lime and it was perfect. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Yum! Exactly what I was looking for - quick and easy and very tasty! I also added some lime juice along with the cilantro after cooking. Received great compliments from family visiting from the Southwest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Great simple recipe. I used Goya black beans with a little more cilantro and less pepper. The recipe calls for quite a lot of "heat" if you put that much cayenne in. Nonetheless, this recipe is simply delicious!! A nice, traditional Central American version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This was so good. I let the beans simmer on very low heat for about 15 minutes so that all the flavors would blend together well. I think 5 minutes is not enough, IMHO. The only variation I made to the recipe was adding some fresh ground black pepper along with the salt. I used this dish to create the best bean burritos I’ve ever tasted - 1/4 cup "best black beans" + 1/4 cup shredded cheese + 2 Tbs. fresh salsa wrapped up in a flour tortilla, then heated in a skillet (or microwave if you just can’t wait). I then topped it off with some green onions and sour cream. Mmmm. Perfect for vegetarians, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
very good for vegetarians.....I substituted paprika fro cayenne pepper to make it milder.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
These really are the best black beans. I like to add a little Thai chili garlic sauce too.....and some extra cilantro. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This the best black bean recipe. One adjusment: I added the juice of half a lime. My mother who never eats anything loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Yummy side dish that is so easy, anyone could do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These were FABULOUS! I also added juice of 1/2 a lime. I will be using the leftovers in burritos! This was a HUGE hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
These were terrific! I upped the fresh cilantro slightly from 1 T to 2 T and as did many others, added the juice of 1/2 a fresh lime. Simmered 15 minutes and served to rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States