Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These were truly delicious. Watch out for the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Did not care for this...the cayenne just did not belong & the onion chunks were wierdly out-of-place. Was hoping for something similar to what I have had many times at Cuban restaurants in Miami, & this was not it. Would recommend finding a good Cuban recipe for black beans...felt like this needed ZERO cayenne, ZERO chopped onion, more garlic & perhaps slow simmer with a bay leave. Move on to a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe has been a favorite of mine for awhile. I like to add a can of green chilies to the mix for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEDISH_SHF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was so easy and so tasty I can't see myself making black beans any other way now. And I make them A LOT. I made this as a side dish to a salmon and avocado dish I found a recipe for and also served Jasmine rice. This is going to be a staple in my household now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I needed a base recipe to go by to make a can of black beans for the first time. I used the ingredients and amounts in the recipe but sauteed my onions and garlic on low for about 15 minutes. I rinsed and drained the beans and added them to the onion/garlic mixture and added cilantro, chilli powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne pepper. Before I added the spices, I tried it and it was very bland. After adding enough salt and more spices, I got it to taste very well. I did not cook down my beans as long as I should have but the flavor was what I was going for. Added a little lime on it afterwards too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I liked this, but think it would have been better if I had sauteed the onion and garlic first. I rinsed the black beans (the "juice" that they're in is very high in sodium plus harder on the digestion) and then covered them in low sodium veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is an easy, delicious, healthy and cheap side dish! I followed KitchenDiva's modifications (rinse beans, saute onion and garlic first and add a can of chicken broth) and added a big squeeze of lime before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Excellent black beans with a good, slightly spicy flavor. I left the cilantro out because I was serving this with cilantro lime rice. I am vegan so this was my main dish and I served with a side of broccoli. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
You werent kidding, these are the best black beans ive ever had. I cooked the onions in a spot of oil for about 5 mins before adding the beans with liquid. Slow cooked this for about 30 mins before adding the seasoning. Really made them thick and delicious, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States