Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great side dish with Mexican food. Used the liquid from one can so it wouldn't be so watery and skipped the cilantro since I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I always "doctor" my beans out of a can... whether it been baked beans, ranch style bean or now black beans... I served this with a Ropa Vieja. It made a nice side to go with it. Simple yet versatile..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I love making this recipe. I read the reviews and put the suggestions together. I saute the onion and garlic, drain and rinse the beans, add chicken broth, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes and add lime juice and then cilantro. Non bean eaters will even eat this. Delish! I don't add salt as it's in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
definitely the best black beans Ive had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These are delicious! However, I wish I had read a few other reviews before making them. I always drain and rinse my beans before using them. I failed to make up for the loss of the liquid by adding some back in. Next time I'll use some broth. Otherwise, the flavors are great and the recipe is very quick and easy. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami's Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love, Love, Love these! I make them all the time, and especially like to eat a steamy bowl of these spicy beans with a piece of pita bread for lunch. I do change the recipe a little, although it is good as written. I sweat my onions in olive oil (1.5 T) for about 8-10 minutes, until they are slightly softened but not fully cooked. While those sweat I rinse a can of black beans thoroughly (leave the beans in the can and just keep adding water until it drains clear). Once beans are clean add enough broth (whatever kind you have) to fill the can back up. When onions are just barely starting to brown add 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp cayenne, and cilantro (which I increase to 1/3c. chopped), cook for another minute and then add your can of beans in broth. Bring mixture to a simmer and allow to simmer until liquid is cooked down to a desired consistency, about 10 minutes(leave 'em soupier if you want to soak up the broth with bread, or cook 'em longer to make them creamier if you want to use them as a side dish), add more salt to taste if needed. I serve with a little fresh chopped cilantro on top. These are truly the best black beans ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
LOVE! I make black beans all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These beans have replaced baked beans at our house. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I usually skip the cayenne & put a few teaspoons of salsa in instead. If it says a whole onion, I don't use that much. About 1/2 an onion for 1 can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So simple and good. Loved it! Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States