Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Well Cameron, this is going to sound a little odd but I made these for breakfast this morning. lol I was just poking around, looking for recipes to adapt to our camping trip (open fire and dutch oven cooking) and came across this. It sounded so yummy (and quick and easy) I wanted to try it right away. It's all those things, yummy, quick and easy. And for the record, makes a delicious breakfast. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good! I substituted celery for the onion, added a red bell pepper and a jalapeno. Also added a splash of lime juice and a bit of chili powder. Served over brown rice with a chicken thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Wow - these definitely are some of the "Best Black Beans" I've had in a while! It sort of reminds me of something I had in a restaurant as a side dish a while back, but better! Who knew something so easy could taste so good - plus it's good for you too! Excellent served warm with a dollup of sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Easy side for any night. Quick and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My husband loved this. Normally we cook the onion and garlic in broth and then add the beans, but I followed the recipe and he liked it better. I used a little less than 1/4 tsp cayenne...and probably will use less next time :P I added a little vegetable broth to "boil" the beans, as well as a bit of pepper. I simmered for maybe 15 minutes and then I added a few squirts of lime juice and a few shakes of dried cilantro (couldn't really taste it, but I didn't want to overdo it). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I feel guilty because I've been making this recipe at least weekly for almost two years and have never reviewed it. I just think it is magical how one can turn a simple can of black beans into such perfection! Based on other reviews, I made the following modifications: saute the onions and garlic in oil before adding the other ingredients. when I have it, I use fresh coconut oil to saute, which adds a nice Caribbean feel to it. Thank you so much for this recipe! I can't believe I lived without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
i added black pepper, crushed red pepper, and doubled the garlic & extra onion for this recipe ~ can do with or without cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
As written, I give the recipe 4 stars. Based on other reviews, I rinsed the beans in cold water to clean off preservatives & decrease gas. Then I added 1/2 cup of beef broth (could use chicken) to replace liquid. I sauted onions and garlic until golden brown and added them to the pot of beans. I brought beans to a boil and then let simmer uncovered for 15 minutes to blend flavors. I added cilantro to the pot a few minutes before putting in serving dish. Got many compliments at the Mexican potluck dinner tonight, and my serving bowl was practically licked clean, lol. That's always a good sign. Next time, I will try allowing them to simmer on low for a few hours in a crockpot to mix the flavors even more. I left out the cayenne, and I will add that or chili powder next time. Adding a garnish of chopped green onions and sour cream sounds yummy, too. Thanks for this great recipe and all of the wonderful ideas from readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States