Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
i added black pepper, crushed red pepper, and doubled the garlic & extra onion for this recipe ~ can do with or without cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
As written, I give the recipe 4 stars. Based on other reviews, I rinsed the beans in cold water to clean off preservatives & decrease gas. Then I added 1/2 cup of beef broth (could use chicken) to replace liquid. I sauted onions and garlic until golden brown and added them to the pot of beans. I brought beans to a boil and then let simmer uncovered for 15 minutes to blend flavors. I added cilantro to the pot a few minutes before putting in serving dish. Got many compliments at the Mexican potluck dinner tonight, and my serving bowl was practically licked clean, lol. That's always a good sign. Next time, I will try allowing them to simmer on low for a few hours in a crockpot to mix the flavors even more. I left out the cayenne, and I will add that or chili powder next time. Adding a garnish of chopped green onions and sour cream sounds yummy, too. Thanks for this great recipe and all of the wonderful ideas from readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Simple, fast, and delicious. I made black beans for the first time using this recipe, and it turned out to be wonderful. I used Goya black beans, drained about half of the water, and also mashed them a little while simmering - that way, they turned out thicker. Other than that, I made the beans exactly the same. Thank you for sharing this simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Everytime I make black beans at home, I find there is something missing. Finally, I've found an easy, delicious black bean recipe. Instead of cayenne, I used chili powder (because everytime I use cayenne I use too much and end up throwing out the dish), and as another reviewer suggested, I sauteed my onion in a bit of olive oil prior to adding everything else. The cilantro is a MUST and I squirted a little lime juice at the end for extra flavor. This is my new "go-to" recipe for black beans. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
sauted the garlic, added drained and rinsed beans and added chicken stock for liquid to simmer. was best I've made. sprinkled some cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good and very quick to make. I sauteed my onions and garlic first and I cooked the whole mixture for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
1/2 tablespoon of cilantro was perfect. Loved this -- my husband couldn't get enough! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfortwo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This simple side dish is surprisingly good. I served it together with Carol's Arroz con Pollo (also on this site) and the entire family loved it -- even my wife, who "hates" beans of all types, said that these were good. I drained the beans and then rinsed in a colander before cooking. I also sauteed the onions and garlic for a few minutes with approx 2Tbs of butter before adding the beans. The end result, while having a few more calories from the butter, turned out very tasty and well-paired with the rest of the meal. Have made twice now and has been very well-received both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe is great! I did make a few small changes based on other reviews. I only used half a small onion and I sauteed the onion and garlic in a little bit of butter for a few minutes because I didn't want it to be crunchy. I also drained the beans and replaced their liquid with about half a can of chicken broth and added more cilantro than called for (about half a bunch). Finally, I let the mixture simmer for a lot longer than the recipe calls for- more like 15-20 minutes- to let the flavors blend. I thought the dish was delicious and it paired perfectly with the enchiladas and rice that I was serving. I will absolutely be making this again. Final note: the dish might be a tiny bit spicy for kids- easily adjustable by altering the amount of cayenne used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!!!. This is the first time i've had black beans and i must say i'll be having it very often from now on. I made a stir fry with the onions and garlic, and added some chopped tomatoes and jallapino pepper (to make it my own), and it came out beautifully. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States