Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
It was good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
simple and delicious! i followed the recommendations of other reviewers; drained and rinsed the beans and substituted homemade chicken broth for the liquid. i also simmered for approximately 15minutes to allow more time for the flavors to come together. this was an excellent side dish for dinner last night. i'm generally not a fan of beans, but enjoyed the flavors of this dish. i'll be adding this recipe to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Wow, these were from a can? Weird how such a simple recipe can end up tasting so good. Great for a quick weeknight dinner. Made this with the Simple Carnitas and Camp Cornbread recipes from this site. Delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Best black bean recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen w

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't give this recipe 5 stars because I did make some changes. This recipe is very simple, and may be great as written, but I think it needs a bit more flavor. I used cooked, dried black beans that I had soaked and cooked the previous day, and poured off some of the cooking liquid so that the beans were just covered. I don't rinse black beans that I cook because I feel that some of the nutrients of the beans are in the cooking liquid. Rinsing them after the soak eliminates the "gas" problem. In addition to the onion and garlic, I added lemon juice, fresh ground cumin, black seed (because I didn't have enough ground cumin), and apple cider vinegar. I brought this to a boil, and then let it simmer on a medium-low heat for about 45 minutes so that all of the flavors would blend. I made a large quantity, and will freeze it in portions for use as a side dish and to use in burritos and enchiladas. I think these beans would also be good if mashed and used to make re-fried black beans. The flavor is absolutely wonderful, and it's a great way to introduce nutritious beans into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Family liked this recipe. Made with rice and chicken enciladas. Saute onion and garlic first. Added additional garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margulise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It's a decent recipe... the kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Easy and tasted great. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Rated 3 stars for recipe "as is" because using the canned liquid is yucky. But with the tweeks others suggested, I give 5 stars as an delicious way to do black beans. First I cooked diced onions in butter until caramelized, added lots of fresh garlic, seasoned with S/P, 1 tsp cumin, and 1Tblsp hot chili powder because that's what I had on hand. Then used chicken broth as liquid with the rinsed beans.... Brought to boil, simmered covered about 30 mins, then cooked uncovered til thickened. Dressed with fresh cilantro and squeeze of lime before serving. It was a hit with my friends and family for Mexican night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Simple, fast and tastes great. The cayenne pepper is a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States