Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I have a go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe, but wanted one for large cookies. This one fits the bill! I was skeptical about using melted butter, but it worked okay (I used a stand mixer to get it the butter sugar egg mixture nice and fluffy). I did add one teaspoon of cinnamon the second time I made these because it really brings out the flavor of chocolate and vanilla. They were a tad bland without but with the cinnamon-yum! I did not chill this dough, and it worked just fine. I did cool on cookie sheets 5 minutes before transferring to rack. They did look a little underdone at 15 minutes, but finished up while cooling on baking sheet. I did not grease pans but rather used a silpat liner- best for cookies! Thank you for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made these to the T and when I put them in the oven they flattened out and I ended up having thin cookie bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristiHoutz
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
The best chocolate chip cookie recipe by far! sometimes I substitute a cup of M&M's for chocolate chips. I also prefer dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristiHoutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as instructed. I let the dough chill for about 90 minutes in the refrigerator. I used silpat mat rather than greasing the cookie sheet. I was initially skeptical, thinking I should have allowed the dough to chill longer, but this dough is amazing and the cookies turned out awesome! I froze the rest of the dough after the first batch! I can't wait to have these cookies around all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are the BEST chocolate chip cookies I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly....Here are some tips... - Mix the butter and sugars REALLY well so it has a creamy/fluffy consistency. The butter doesn't have to be melted all the way, but at least room temp and VERY soft. Make sure when you incorporate the flour, to mix until it is JUST mixed, do not over mix. Fold in the chocolate chips. I put the dough in the fridge for at least an hour. I used an ice cream scoop to scoop it out, made 16 cookies. I baked in a convection oven for 15 minutes, the edges were LIGHTLY toasted as instructed. It will look like its not ready, but leave it on the cookie pan for 15-30 minutes, it will continue to cook on its own, then move to a cookie rack. When I stored the finished cookies (after completely cooled) I put them in a zip lock bag. Actually, I lied, Instead of 2 cups of chocolate chips, I used half a 12 oz bag. My husband said they were delicious, but said he would rather have bittersweet chips in his. Will have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
They didn't turn out "fat" though I followed the directions exactly. They are really good though. Ended up chopping up a bar of Ghirardelli's semisweet baking chocolate because I ran out of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
We added m&Ms and they were amazing. My kids loved them. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josey
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These cookies are really easy and quick to whip up! In my cookies, I used coconut oil in place of the butter. Because coconut oil has a much lower boiling point than butter, your bake time is 10-12 minutes. And even though your cookies might not seem quite done on the inside, let them cool and the coconut oil will regain it's consistency. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My batter turns out quite runny. I have followed the steps to a T. I even took a special trip to the store to get real unsalted butter. Any suggestions or tips? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete Armstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
The first batch I made and sprayed the pan with cooking oil. The cookies all melted together and looked like one big pancake. They then stuck to the pan and fell apart. The second batch I used parchment paper and the same thing happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States