Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love this recipe for two reasons; The cookies are absolutely deliciously sweet, and I can make these by hand (so no need to use a stand mixer that is often already preoccupied with something else.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
If you are looking for a recipe that has that special bakery taste to it, look no further. I have been looking for the perfect recipe for a long time, have tried many variations, and this one is truly the bee's knees. I believe the most important step is melting the butter. So many recipes call for whipping softened butter, but all you do is whip so much air into the butter, the cookies bake more airy or cakey. These cookies come out the perfect density and chewiness. My dough came out pretty soft and I was concerned the cookies would flatten out and be terrible. They did not. I baked for 17 minutes. I have baked this recipe other times after refrigerating the dough for several hours and have had excellent results as well. A substitution I prefer is to ditch the white sugar and light brown sugar and use 1 1/2 cups of dark brown sugar. Much better flavor. I also use only Guittard chocolate chips and put in 1 cup semi-sweet and 1 cup milk chocolate. The different flavors of chocolate adds a depth to the taste. Others may prefer 1C dark/1C semi. Either way, the base of this recipe is perfect. Just go for it, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is THE BEST cookie recipe ever. I have been searching for quite some time for a cookie recipe that has the perfect flavor and chewiness of bakery cookies and this is it. To make it more bakery-like, i replaced the chocolate chips with a giant Hershey's Symphony bar-chopped. It was amazing! thank you Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe ha become my go-to chocolate chip cookie. I took advice on a previous review and added just a bit of cinnamon to the recipe and it really brings out the flavor. Otherwise, I make the recipe as written. I always get compliments and these cookies do not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is essentially the recipe that I use (I was going to submit my own, but this one is almost the exact same). The only differences are that I use a full cup of melted butter and 2 full eggs. And you have to refrigerate the dough for an hour or two!!! I obviously make smaller cookies as I get about 30, and therefore I only need to bake for 10 minutes (they look a bit under-cooked in the center but that's okay!). They are so soft and chewy (and they stay soft) and the closest thing to a Subway cookie that I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
These are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had.. store bought or homemade. None compare. Do NOT use margarine. You can sub baking powder, but as any baker knows.. it will make it more cakelike. They are still delicious however. You do not need to refrigerate the dough prior to baking nor do you need to make sure the eggs are room temperature. Mix your dry ingredients together. Cream your sugar, eggs, butter, and vanilla. Then mix it all together and voila. You are good to go. Super easy and delicious. I could eat the cookie dough alone in one sitting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE EVER! i tried this out for my family and friends and they loved it. The butter and vanilla really adds to the taste. Very moist chewy and decadent! I recommend this recipe for everyone! IT IS THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smilecake :-)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
DELICIOUS! The cookies in the photo were made by my 7-year-old brother. These are the best cookies on the internet! I earned a Buffett treat in my homeroom class, and these were perfect! Everyone loved them! Everyone wanted to know who brought in the giant cookies. Considering I'm 11, and I made these, PERFECT FOR KIDS! Kids will go insane with their side. Super easy to make, anyone can, and decorating is even more fun and easier than ever. Made them four times! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly as written and it turned out to be some of the best cookies I have ever made. The only thing I changed was instead of using semi-sweet chocolate chips I used 100% cacao bakers chips. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe!! A big crowd pleaser my husband can't get enough of them! The only thing I did differently is put half the chocolate chips in. I find the amount suggested to be over kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States