Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by limegreenglo
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Keep in mind that I have yet to make a chocolate chip cookie that pleases me. I don't know what I'm doing wrong! These were pretty good. I made them fairly small, and ended up with 52 cookies that didn't spread much at all. I want flatter cookies... They were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Not bad. But not perfect. I want to make it look like it does in the video....my dough always ends up being light brown, not yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
THE best I've made so far! Crispy outside and chewy inside- just perfect! I added a dash of cinnamon like another reviewer suggested. Everyone loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Awesome cookies! Like store bought. Look beautiful, taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These are my all time favourite cookies. I make these for my family and they're gone within hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This makes large, chewy, delicious cookies. They're easier to make than most others, too. I recommend putting less chocolate and making them for a little longer (until they feel firm when you poke them with a fork) then then the recipe says. Maybe 1/2-3/4 of a cup of chocolate and 18-20 minutes in the oven. The cookies are rather large, which to me was a bonus because it makes them look very nice. They also usually come out rounder than other recipes, which is a plus. They also just taste amazing. This is my go-to cookie recipe ever since I found it a couple of years ago. It's easier to make than other recipes because of the melted butter. I mix everything by hand and had no problems until the very end of the recipe, when the dough became thick- at that point kneading it by hand becomes a better idea than a spoon, although I've done both with good results. The double recipe I'm currently making produced about 30 (give or take 2-3) cookies using their recommendation of a quarter cup of dough per cookie. Using an online calculator, it came to 250-300 calories a cookie, if anyone's interested. Amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Channah Klapper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have been making cookies almost every day for a month, looking for the soft chewy texture, but for some reason ALL my cookies came out 'fat' and somewhat cakey inside. I was always disappointed even though they tasted delicious. I was always wondering why they would puff up in the oven and NOT spread. UNTIL I came to this page. I did every to a T. Not a single teaspoon over or under. My brown sugar was dark brown but other than that I did everything like they said ... and Ta Da! Turned out perfect. I did refrigerate; mainly because ITS AUGUST and too hot here, the whole thing would melt and never make a ball! And I didn't use an electric beater just used my own hands :) Rest is alll the same and they look fantastic, totally like Subway Cookies! Mine took 17 minutes in the oven. And yes they are very forgiving; if you seem to have under-done the cookies, pop them back into the oven for a minute or two. I used about a cup or more of chocolate chips; mine were mini chocolate chips so they dispersed well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faiq Muntaha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I always add extra vanilla, and the recipe works fairly easy with substitutions. I often run slightly low on brown sugar, but they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynne Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I love this recipe for two reasons; The cookies are absolutely deliciously sweet, and I can make these by hand (so no need to use a stand mixer that is often already preoccupied with something else.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
If you are looking for a recipe that has that special bakery taste to it, look no further. I have been looking for the perfect recipe for a long time, have tried many variations, and this one is truly the bee's knees. I believe the most important step is melting the butter. So many recipes call for whipping softened butter, but all you do is whip so much air into the butter, the cookies bake more airy or cakey. These cookies come out the perfect density and chewiness. My dough came out pretty soft and I was concerned the cookies would flatten out and be terrible. They did not. I baked for 17 minutes. I have baked this recipe other times after refrigerating the dough for several hours and have had excellent results as well. A substitution I prefer is to ditch the white sugar and light brown sugar and use 1 1/2 cups of dark brown sugar. Much better flavor. I also use only Guittard chocolate chips and put in 1 cup semi-sweet and 1 cup milk chocolate. The different flavors of chocolate adds a depth to the taste. Others may prefer 1C dark/1C semi. Either way, the base of this recipe is perfect. Just go for it, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is THE BEST cookie recipe ever. I have been searching for quite some time for a cookie recipe that has the perfect flavor and chewiness of bakery cookies and this is it. To make it more bakery-like, i replaced the chocolate chips with a giant Hershey's Symphony bar-chopped. It was amazing! thank you Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States