Best Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a really great, simple recipe. It needs a little something extra, so I added apple cider vinegar and two more eggs. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I added some onion powder to taste. I'd give it 3.5 stars if the option was available. I appreciated having a beet recipe without vinegar for a change. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is the recipe my mom made too, but added some chopped celery. She always used Miracle Whip with about a TBSP of sugar and dash of milk (instead of mayo). Janet Ballantyne of Garden's Way suggested baking washed beets for about 1 1/2 hours (when you have something else in the oven anyway). Make sure to leave the skins & tap root on and leave 1 inch of stem. Cool in cold water and the skins will slip off easily. Baking instead of boling results in less color and flavor loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was really good! I used canola mayonnaise, which is what we use for mayonnaise normally. Yum!! Even my husband, who does not like beets at all (but will try anything I put in front of him) said that he probably won't eat much more of this batch, but he'd eat some again next time I make it. That's a HUGE compliment to this recipe. Thank you for sharing a beet recipe that does not use vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmylastname
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I really enjoy this recipe for its freshness and lack of heavy ingredients. It's just so simple. After boiling the beets I chilled them in cooled water for about ten minutes which lifted the skin nicely and made peeling easier. After pealing, I put the beats through the julienne component on my food processor which cut the beets into nicely uniform pieces. Then I left the julienned beets in a bowl of ice water for about 15 minutes. This cooled them down and added a crisp professional texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good. It was nice and simple and totally colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I hadn't thought of making a beet salad until I saw this one. It's really good and very attractive. I did add a diced sweet onion for a bit of sassiness and some crunch. After reading some of the other reviews, I'm thinking I may also add some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I disagree with previous raters...I do think beets and mayo go well together. Since beets are sweet already, the mayo is a good contrast. However, after I made it, my sister added a few chopped pickle and celery, and that was also a nice compliment! I also have tried this with regular red beets and golden beets. The parsley would probably be a good addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What an amazing salad !!!! I used organic golden beets and just a touch of flat leaf parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States