Best Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
beets are good with mayo just less like two tablespoons add eggs and potatos and green pees.Very good salad to go with spanish rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
the mayo. didn't really go with the beets all that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This has become my favorite way to eat beets. I altered the recipe a bit. I added carrots which I steam whole with the beets and then dice. I also add lemon juice and cilantro to taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Sorry.. Didn't like this. I agree with the previous writer, the Mayo and Beets... not a good thing. Beets need a strong dressing .. sweet and sour, sweet only ? Not sure. Roasted Beets are the best that one can do.... pull them, wash them, and roast in the oven, peel off the skins, offer salt peeper and butter............ and oh wow yummy... Go back to the simple stuff...................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by north

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
In defense of this recipe, mayonnaise with beets is an excellent combination for those of us who love it! This is delicious in our home and the only way my little ones would ever touch a beet. I never eat beats without mayo unless they are pickled. What makes this extra good is that these beets are fresh....yummy! I leave off the seasoning since for me the mayo was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I loved this recipe. I grew up with a mother who cooked "Southern", using mayonnaise for a salad dressing, so it didn't taste foreign to the beets. I used 1/2 vegetarian mayo and 1/2 Greek yogurt. I think my 4 yr old DGD will love this pretty pink salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is the recipe my mom made too, but added some chopped celery. She always used Miracle Whip with about a TBSP of sugar and dash of milk (instead of mayo). Janet Ballantyne of Garden's Way suggested baking washed beets for about 1 1/2 hours (when you have something else in the oven anyway). Make sure to leave the skins & tap root on and leave 1 inch of stem. Cool in cold water and the skins will slip off easily. Baking instead of boling results in less color and flavor loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I disagree with previous raters...I do think beets and mayo go well together. Since beets are sweet already, the mayo is a good contrast. However, after I made it, my sister added a few chopped pickle and celery, and that was also a nice compliment! I also have tried this with regular red beets and golden beets. The parsley would probably be a good addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I added some onion powder to taste. I'd give it 3.5 stars if the option was available. I appreciated having a beet recipe without vinegar for a change. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was really good! I used canola mayonnaise, which is what we use for mayonnaise normally. Yum!! Even my husband, who does not like beets at all (but will try anything I put in front of him) said that he probably won't eat much more of this batch, but he'd eat some again next time I make it. That's a HUGE compliment to this recipe. Thank you for sharing a beet recipe that does not use vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmylastname
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States