Best Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Had one of those "something's missing" flavors. Will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I only used 1 bottle of beer, and I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I still thought that the flavor of the beer was a tad too strong, but I suggest that you adjust it to your taste. It was a good recipe for a chilly winter night, especially served with a thick crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out very bitter and it was not a thick and creamy soup like I had wanted. I would not recommend this to anyone, I am sure that there are better Beer Cheese Soup recipes out there than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious! Perfect! (I'm wondering why anyone would say there is too strong a beer flavor when this is beer cheese soup.) I do add a cubed potato for my husband who likes more veggies to chomp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Lukow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe, four stars only because too much beer. I skipped the bacon because of Friday fast but otherwise prepared as instructed. Recipe is economical to fix feeds 4 hungry kids with leftovers for another lunch! It is easy to add left over veg and ham or bacon for Saturdays lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a delicious, quick meal! I had left over bacon already cooked, so that made it even easier. I didn't think it tasted too much like beer, but just right. Even my 2 and 4 year olds and even pickier husband liked it! I used 3 cups chicken broth and 1 can beer. next time, I will use both cans of beer. My husband took half of the soup and ran it thru the food processor and added some sour cream because he wanted it smooth and more creamy. Either way tasted pretty good. A quick tasty dinner. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I absolutely love this soup. I left out the carrots and green onions as im not a big fan of those and it actually makes it a little less carbs. Easy to make and great for lunches. Gets better and better every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is really good. The only reason why I rated it 4 stars is that there is too much beer in this recipe. I made it with one 12 ounce can of beer and 2 cans of chicken broth and still had a strong beer presence, not too much for my taste though, just about right. I would definitely make this again with those substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
excellent!!! my entire family loved it!!! Definitely will make again as is! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States