Best Beef Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I guess I am the minority on this one. The list of ingredients for the jus was a little wierd. Adding them I was even more doubtful since I dont like rosemary or bay leaves but had them on hand. Smelling it, I wasnt quite sure but tasting it was very clear. Gross. Not a good combo at all and I only used half of the soy. Had I used it all, the meat would have been unsalvageable. If I had cooked it ten hours on low it also would have been extremely dry. I did six hours on low and it was plenty. I woke at 4 am to put this in the fridge and almost splashed myself when I took it out with a giant fork because it fell all over the place. Mind you, thats great for the meat but not great when you dont have clothes on to protect yourself, lol. Anyway, I kept tasting the broth just to make sure I didnt like it and sadly it didnt get any better. At least I can pour it off and make a gravy for the meat later. I would never try this again. A can of mushroom soup is better or a packet of store bought au jus is better. Im thankful I didnt waste a bunch of good ingredients. Oh well,cooking is all about experimenting and we all have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This turned out great! I've made it several times and it's delicious every time, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was really great!!! My husband usually doesn't like meat done in a slow cooker because it can be dry. This was not!!! I did add a few teaspoons of beef base to it as it cooked. I made it the day before, shredded the meat and removed the fat, then put in the refrigerator over night. I took it out the next afternoon and pulled off the fat that had come to the top. I reheated if for 2-3 hours, served on french rolls with provolone. Excellent!!! Will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
So good and super easy! I followed some other reviews and used beef broth in place of about 4 cups of water. Next time I will probably go with a little less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I barely had enough left for lunch after my teenagers had their fill for dinner. I did substitute some beef broth for the water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Easy and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Used mix of low sodium beef broth, low sodium soy sauce, worcestershire to taste instead of water. All else same. Broth was strained before using. Bread was spread lightly with butter, broiled, then parmesan, shredded beef, mozzarella, then broiled open faced again. My family was drinking the broth it was so good! Sandwiches all gone as fast as I made them! Broth and leftover beef will be the base for beef and noodles next day. Best dip sandwich ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family loves this recipe!!! I did add a bit more garlic just because I love garlic! It is so easy to put together and the taste is amazing :) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Super easy and super delicious! I put mixed shredded cheese on a hoagie and melted it before adding the shredded beef. Not only did it add an extra oomph of flavor but it also helped hold the meat in. Next time I will add some sauteed onions too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this for tonight's dinner, following a couple of Crystal S.'s suggestions (to reduce the rosemary to 1/2 tablespoon, and replace 4 cups of the water with 4 cups of low sodium beef broth). Our 4 lb roast cooked on low for ten hours. It and the au jus were delicious! I served it on franchese rolls that I first buttered and broiled. A family hit! I will never use powdered or concentrated au jus broth again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States