Best Beef Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
LOVE! I, too, made a couple of changes. I used 4 C. beef broth and 2 C. water. I also added in 1 Tbsp. of onion powder. So wonderful! I'll definitely be recommending this recipe to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
My family and I loved this!! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great! I sliced it up about two hours before dinner time and let it rest in the sauce until it was time to eat! we ate it on toasted french bread with swiss cheese!! everyone finished everything on their plate! :) thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I expected this to be much better based on the name. The only modifications I had were low sodium soy sauce (def could've been a factor) and I added a little more garlic just because I like it. I agree with other posters that the flavor with the soy sauce is a little odd and in the future I will use a recipe with more of a beef broth base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This meal was simple and delicious, great for busy weeknights. I prepared the jus the night before (didn't take much time, but didn't want to deal with it in the am) and added it to water and meat in the slowcooker in the morning. It cooked for about 10 hours, and was perfectly tender but not mushy. I made the sauce just as described, and it had a rich beef flavor- our guests did not detect soy sauce (in contrast to other reviewers.) Perhaps the extra long cooking time allowed the flavors to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was really good, but it seemed to be missing something. That being said, there are no leftovers:) Plus, it was great since all of us were running in different directions for dinner tonight (3 different seatings and 1 sandwich to go in the car).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good! Everyone loved it. I added a bullion cube to the mix and added some peppercorns. (all seasonings kept in cheese cloth) Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!! Nobody guessed it had soy sauce in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Geez, I don't know. I made this as written, except halved since my roast was only 2 lbs. We liked the sandwiches well enough, but honestly, the au jus tasted exactly like watered down soy sauce. I let the roast go on low for 9 hours, and it turned out perfect. The au jus needs doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a favorite in our family-I add a little dried thyme and lots of black pepper. Makes an easy supper for busy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this, my kid's loved it, but my husband thought it was bit to much like onion soup. I think I added to much of the onion. Next time I will decrease the onion, and use a larger roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very easy, excellent for sandwiches. I shorted the water slightly, which made it saltier. Next time I might short the soy a bit if I'm doing another smaller chuck roast. Also added a few mustard seeds just to be funny. I didn't have all day, so I cooked on high for 5 hours. The meat was tender but didn't fall to pieces completely, so I sliced across the grain for our sandwiches. It was delicious, my daughter and husband had seconds and my daughter even ate an extra hoagie roll just to get more jus. I could see adding some other herbs and spices to get a different twist, but this was yummy as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States