Best Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great and flexible. The key to this one is the 1/2 C. Oil, Vinegar, Sugar (I did go with a little less sugar), and Onion. Keep those 4 items together in 1 part each and you can add lots of different things to this. Pasta, all types of Beans, salad greens, other veggies. It is really very flexible and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Love it! I've been making this recipe for years and literally crave it! Goes so great with grilled chicken. My version uses seasoned salt instead of regular salt and also 1/4 tsp garlic powder. Also, make sure you use cut green beans and not french style. I mix my dressing in a large bowl and THEN add the veggies to wash one less bowl!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This really is the best ever! Be sure to rinse the legumes. I don't usually use Spenda but used a 1/2 cup in this instead of sugar (New Year Resolutions and all that!). Darn, I made this to clean out some cans from the pantry and I may just have to go buy some more!! Thanks! UPDATE: I have been making this constantly since this review and keep in containers in the frig for a quick healthy lunch! It's so easy to make and lasts the whole week! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was a terrific bean salad! I got alot of compliments on this...I let the salad sit overnight to marinate...we had left-overs and let me tell you, this salad gets better the longer it sits and marinates, 2-4 days later and it was even better tasting! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was great! Very simple, but still delicious! I used red wine vinegar, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup based on other reviews, and it was perfect. It was quite liquidy, so I think I may add more beans next time. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this with what I had on hand- a one pound bag of red beans (prepared), some frozen wax pepper slices, red onion, celery, red wine vinegar, olive oil, honey instead of sugar, salt, pepper and garlic (as per another review.) It was DELICIOUS and kept for over a week. I think the secret is the sweet-sour-oil ratio, that with any combination of beans, veggies and spices would make a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Really good, just a tad too sweet. I will make it again with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Super easy and super delicious. I agree with the other reviewers, the salad gets better the longer it marinates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is delicious. I halved the recipe and made it for my family. The kids loved it. I had some zesty italian dressing I needed to use up and so I subbed that for the green pepper, celery, oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. I added slightly less sugar. Also, be sure to wash the beans, I didn't and there was unappealing bubbles in the salad. This would be a great dish to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
No need to look further for a three (or more) bean salad recipe. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States