Best Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was great! Very simple, but still delicious! I used red wine vinegar, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup based on other reviews, and it was perfect. It was quite liquidy, so I think I may add more beans next time. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great and flexible. The key to this one is the 1/2 C. Oil, Vinegar, Sugar (I did go with a little less sugar), and Onion. Keep those 4 items together in 1 part each and you can add lots of different things to this. Pasta, all types of Beans, salad greens, other veggies. It is really very flexible and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I only used 1/4 cup of sugar to try and I thought it was perfect. I think if I had used the 3/4 cup, it would have been too sweet for me. Also only used about 2T olive oil (instead of salad oil) - it didn't need anymore moisture. Because I didn't read the instructions carefully enough, I only made this about an hour before I wanted to serve it. It was very good, even only having marinated that long, but I'll agree that the overnight marinade was awesome! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Another great recipe for the diet-conscious! I got really great feedback when I made this for my TOPS group, and had to supply the recipe to everyone! I didn't have black beans or kidney beans on hand, so I sub'd with a tin of chili-style beans, which I drained prior to adding them. It was really really good! I'd recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Yummy!! And super easy! I didnt add the entire amount of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esi142

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Really good, just a tad too sweet. I will make it again with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this with what I had on hand- a one pound bag of red beans (prepared), some frozen wax pepper slices, red onion, celery, red wine vinegar, olive oil, honey instead of sugar, salt, pepper and garlic (as per another review.) It was DELICIOUS and kept for over a week. I think the secret is the sweet-sour-oil ratio, that with any combination of beans, veggies and spices would make a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This really is the best ever! Be sure to rinse the legumes. I don't usually use Spenda but used a 1/2 cup in this instead of sugar (New Year Resolutions and all that!). Darn, I made this to clean out some cans from the pantry and I may just have to go buy some more!! Thanks! UPDATE: I have been making this constantly since this review and keep in containers in the frig for a quick healthy lunch! It's so easy to make and lasts the whole week! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Love it! This salad is a delicious and satisfying side for lunch, dinner or potluck. I made mine without the black beans because I forgot to buy some, and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great dish! I made it exactly like the recipe, but next time I think that I'll add edaname to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States