Best Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Save Calories, use splenda instead of sugar. You won't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years and it is excellent but my recipe, while not using garbanzo beans, adds bean sprouts, water chestnuts & shoepeg corn. This recipe goes with just about anything and like one reviewer said, it gets better as it gets older.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I make mine very similarly, but use less green beans as they aren't a fav. in my family. I add corn to the mix as well and use both green and red bell pepper. I also like to include blanched broccoli florets and stems or cauliflower if I have them. Chopped peeled carrot is good if you want added crunch. This salad is very versatile, so you can mix it up to suit your tastes! Good Season's salad dressing and about 1/2 to 1 Tbs sugar is enough, depending on how much salad I'm making. This is something that is so good that I love to snack on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I've made this for a few years now. I stick wiht the basic recipe exept I use red wine vinagar and use 1/2 cup sugar. To "spice" it up, I also add black olives, walnuts, and broccolit. I've takin it to partys and get togethers and that is now my dish to bring. Guess that says something about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Though we prefer it without the wax beans. We always use raspberry vinegar, and I wouldn't go back to regular vinegar for this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is like the three bean salad you find at a deli, but better! I don't use canned beans, though that's the only way I could find the wax beans. So, I used canned wax, frozen green, and dried garbanzo, kidney, and black that I'd previously cooked and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Even my kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I apparently hate bean salad. I made this recipe (never had bean salad before) and was about to throw it out and my sister stopped me. Her and her husband LOVED it. I make it regularly just for them :) So 5 stars from them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This excellent! So easy and delicious. All I did differently was cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. Next time I will try honey like someone suggested. Made this as 1 of 4 salads for a party and it was a huge hit. I make this for myself for lunch and as a side with dinner. Leftovers are great and it lasts all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is delicious. I halved the recipe and made it for my family. The kids loved it. I had some zesty italian dressing I needed to use up and so I subbed that for the green pepper, celery, oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. I added slightly less sugar. Also, be sure to wash the beans, I didn't and there was unappealing bubbles in the salad. This would be a great dish to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States