Best Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
mmmmmmmmmmmmm....so good.Like other reviewers ,I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. More than enough.I used olive oil as that is all I had. Some people who ate it thought I could have still used less sugar. Next time I will try less and use cut frozen green and waxed beans boiled for a few minutes as the canned beans turned to mush oce you stirred it all together. . So good. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Terrific -- yes, the key is equal parts of the marinade; oil, vinegar [I used vegetable oil and red wine vinegar], and sugar [careful here too, I went with my taste]. I did not use 3/4 of a cup, probably closer to a half cup of sugar. I also made this the night before I served it so that the marinade would marry with the other ingredients. Also, yes, you can use this marinade with probably limitless ingredients. I just used one can each / dark red kidney beans, black beans, some onion, some celery and actually, threw in some corn. Omitted the green, garbanzo and wax beans. Notice however, that I am 3 bean/cans short of the recipe as written yet went with the same liquid measurements as written. I don't believe there's any harm in having extra marinade -- in fact, I think the more marinade, the more tasty this dish becomes. You can use a slotted spoon to remove and serve the beans from the marinade so that it does not resemble soup. Excellent dish -- my husband finished it before he even touched his burger. There's your sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Was trying to find a recipe that could compete with my mother-in-law's bean salad. Followed this one exactly. My husband liked it and said it was very easy to eat. The longer it sat, the more he liked it. His brother said it was better than his mom's and swore me to secrecy. :) Thanks! BTW... for those who can`t find garbanzo beans... they are chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I grew up on this salad. The variety of beans provides more fiber and nutrition than other bean salads on this site. My mom always used 2/3c. olive oil or a canola/vegetable/olive oil combo to equal the 2/3c., 3/4c. APPLE CIDER VINEGAR (white is too strong), 1/2c. Splenda or 3/4c. sugar. The salad gets better with age so we try to make it 2-4 days ahead of the party. If you cannot make it ahead of time, microwave the drained and rinsed garbanzo and kidney beans for 60 seconds and the wax and green beans for 30 seconds; the black beans turn to mush if microwaved. Microwaving the beans softens them so the dressing is absorbed much quicker. I use my salad spinner to drain and rinse the beans--garbanzo and kidney beans together, dump in the plastic bag or bowl, then I spin the green and wax beans. This also mixes the beans together which results in less breakage or mushy beans. If I'm taking this to a party, I prepare the recipe in a gallon ziploc bag, pack in a cooler with ice blocks on the bottom, and then put in the bowl when I get to the party. The ziploc bag allows me to mix the beans/marinade together easily and the clean up is so easy. If you don't have ground black pepper, use 1tsp. celery seeds. I omit the salt from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Excellent! Decreased sugar, but no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Wonderful salad! I like the crunch that the celery, onions, and green pepper give it. I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 C since my husband doesn't like his food too sweet...go figure. Also, I made a mistake and put in chili beans which had been packed in a chili tomato sauce. Even though I rinsed off the sauce, it added an interesting dimension to the flavor, so it worked out ok. I will definitely make this again since it is a very versatile recipe. I may try adding red peppers, carrots, and zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Made this for a church dinner. Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Started making this over the hot summer. It was sooo good. I took it to a camp out and 2 bbq's and all three times I was asked for the recipe. It's one of the keepers I will enjoy for a lifetime. Quick, easy, delicious...no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yum! Definitely tastes better after chilling for awhile in the fridge-to let the dressing soak in. I used frozen green beans, 1/2 cup of sugar, and left out the wax beans. Husband and children also liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It's so simple and delicious. Makes me crave more and more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States