Best BBQ Rub in Texas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My wife and I have been trying a bunch of new things on the grill and this is our top choice as of yet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Prepared BBQ beef for a family function and all raved about the beef. It was very easy to prepare and we slow cooked the beef (20lbs)for nearly 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Greatest way to flavor ribs I have ever used. I precooked the ribs with this rub and used an off the shelf plain BBQ sauce. They were still as good or better than any rib at a summer cook-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Great flavors, not too sweet, but enough spice. I "marinated" some pork country ribs overnight with the rub. Grilled them in foil with a little water for several hours. The last 20 minutes, coked them straight on the grill, brushing good store-bought barbeque sauce on the last few minutes on each side. Got rants and raves, and I never cook ribs. Want to try this on a tri-tip next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This is an excellent rub. I take a massive beef brisket, rub it down good, pour a couple of jars of barbeque concentrate over it, wrap it in foil and let it sit for about 2 hours before slow smoking it at 250 degrees for 16-24 hrs. The tenderness and the subtle spices in the rub are indescribable. Highly recommended, though it does make a LOT of rub (save in a container and use later, still good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We were in charge of making/smoking the brisket for my dad's 65th birthday party. I made this up, exactly to recipe, on Tuesday. Placed in an airtight container. Rubbed on 12 lbs. brisket on Thursday morning. Put brisket in smoker Saturday evening, took it out 12 hours later, today (Sunday), and it was out of this world!!!!! Many, many compliments on the meat. The brisket was 12 lbs and we still had tons leftover. Would recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! I put it on the steaks 4 hours before they were cooked...I got rave reviews! Everyone thought it was store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great stuff! Just the right amount of spices to keep my friends wondering how I got this to taste so good! Should I tell them????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I used this on a pork roast and put it on the rotisserie. Yummy! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This rub was great. I used it on a brisket before smoking it. Wonderful flavor! I only made 1/4 of this recipe, coated a 10 lb brisket and have plenty left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States