Best BBQ Rub in Texas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I hate to disagree with so many people, but I made this mix because of all the positive reviews and was so disapointed! I was smoking a beef brisket, a pork roast, and some chicken and used this mix on all three. WAAAAAAAAY too salty!!! I am not watching my salt intake, or on a salt free diet but I felt like Lot's wife after eating this meat seasoned with this rub. Recipe calls for 16 ounces of salt seasoning (I used Lawreys) and truly believe if I had cut that in half, it would still be way too salty. We didn't even taste any of the other seasonings. so sorry to give a negative review but I fixed it according to measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
My only complaint with this rub is it made soooo much, which is okay because you can keep it for later use. It gave a very good flavor to my brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Prepared BBQ beef for a family function and all raved about the beef. It was very easy to prepare and we slow cooked the beef (20lbs)for nearly 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This is an excellent rub. I take a massive beef brisket, rub it down good, pour a couple of jars of barbeque concentrate over it, wrap it in foil and let it sit for about 2 hours before slow smoking it at 250 degrees for 16-24 hrs. The tenderness and the subtle spices in the rub are indescribable. Highly recommended, though it does make a LOT of rub (save in a container and use later, still good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We were in charge of making/smoking the brisket for my dad's 65th birthday party. I made this up, exactly to recipe, on Tuesday. Placed in an airtight container. Rubbed on 12 lbs. brisket on Thursday morning. Put brisket in smoker Saturday evening, took it out 12 hours later, today (Sunday), and it was out of this world!!!!! Many, many compliments on the meat. The brisket was 12 lbs and we still had tons leftover. Would recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Greatest way to flavor ribs I have ever used. I precooked the ribs with this rub and used an off the shelf plain BBQ sauce. They were still as good or better than any rib at a summer cook-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I needed a rub recipe for beef ribs quickly & found this one. Even though we did not have seasoning salt, the dry mesquite mix or the time to let the rub sit on the meat for 2 hours, our ribs were great. My husband did not even use his favorite BBQ sauce. FYI - I reduced the recipe using the calculator for a portion servig 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Great flavors, not too sweet, but enough spice. I "marinated" some pork country ribs overnight with the rub. Grilled them in foil with a little water for several hours. The last 20 minutes, coked them straight on the grill, brushing good store-bought barbeque sauce on the last few minutes on each side. Got rants and raves, and I never cook ribs. Want to try this on a tri-tip next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
We used this rub on an 8 lb brisket and it had a lot of flavor. Next time, I'll scale the recipe down a bit since we had a lot of extra and maybe cut down on the salts a bit more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States