Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cooking Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Sweet & fluffy... just simply wonderful! I ate it plain, but can't wait to make it for cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Soft and slightly sweet. They come out perfect everytime even if you subsitute for whole wheat flour. I've also used it to make cinnamon rolls many times. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This bread was great! Everyone raved about it. I'll definitely be making this again. For everyone considering making this recipe: be very careful when heating the milk mixture. We had to do it twice as we killed the yeast the first time. In the end we wound up throwing the ingredients in a bowl and putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds rather than heating them on the stove. This worked perfectly and when we added the yeast it foamed just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is the best bread i have EVER had in my entire life. Incredible texture and taste. Try it topped in butter or make sandwiches with turkey and swiss cheese. Unbelievable, I'm not kidding. I also tried making it with whole wheat flour and it was very good as well. Use "i can't believe it's not butter" instead of butter for a lower-cal bread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
A great recipe! I have used this for loaves, buns, and most importantly Cinnamon Buns using the Cinnamon Bun Icing recipe on this site. I do have a question... I like the texture when I sub. Bread Flour (??Hard Flour??), but how do you modify the basic recipe to get the dough consistently to the correct elasticity??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Great easy recipe. I've used it to make cinnamon pull-apart bread several times. If you are new to using yeast and hot liquids, I'd suggest some caution -- it's easy to kill the yeast if you let the milk get too hot on the stove. Use a themometer if you can't "guess" what about 115 degrees feels like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yeast hint: If microwave the milk, be aware that the temperature may continue to rise 5 to 10 degrees F after you take it out. Let your milk sit for 5 minutes and after nuking and use a thermometer to make sure it is not over 105 to 110 degrees Farenheit when you add the yeast or you may kill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Turns out great, easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
OMG this makes suchh good rolls! I steeped chai tea spices in the warm milk and it made it taste soooo good! I will definitely make this any time i want some type of sweet roll...best right out of the oven, or toasted! I used it in bread pudding when it got stale, and it was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was great. Simple and enjoyable. I used a non-sticking spray to reduce some calories and put it into the mold and it worked fine. I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States