Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
One of the best bread recipes. Very simple recipe ,not overly crowded with directions. I used it to make loaves of cinnamon bread. It was perfect! It's also very easy to tinker up a bit.I did find the rise times a bit short so I opted for double in size except for the final. There, I ovened the loaves when they had risen and looked like loaves.For those who had failures to rise, remember that yeast is a very sensitive live culture. Too hot and you kill it. Too cold and it doesn't wake up. Salted butter works just fine although excess salt will slow the culture as will too much sugar. Just cut down on the recipe salt. If you start with warm liquid at about body temperature and it is slow to activate, just give it a bit more time. It will come around if your yeast isn't dead. Yeast culture needs to be foamy to make your dough rise.Don't give up on it.Another note, the final dough should be on the stiff side to give body to the final product. One thing to remember, you are making bread..and to be blunt,you need to work hell out of the dough. Keep kneading until you get tired--and then knead some more. when the dough is ready it should stretch much like melted cheese. This really is a great recipe and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tried it and I followed the recipe just like it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Heggie-Sorenson
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
We fell in love with the sweet rolls they sell at the Aloha Stadium Swap Meet in Honolulu and this recipe nails it! My first attempt, I killed the yeast. Second time, (I omitted the butter from the yeast process), the milk was too cool so I set the bowl of milk, yeast & sugar into a larger bowl of hot tap water and viola! It started foaming within minutes! I took it out of the warm bath and let it activate for 10 mins and mixed the dough according to the recipe and added the softened butter with the eggs. I brushed with melted butter before and after baking. I mixed up cinnamon honey butter for spreading on them and my friends raved! I'm making these on Thanksgiving, for sure! And this was my first time EVER baking with yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Mine rose fine and it tastes great! I even used expired yeast. I live in a a very dry climate although. The only thing that I noticed about the recipe is that is states to add oil to the mixture, and then later in the directions it states to use half the oil for the bowl and the other half for the baking pan. So all 2 Tablespoons of my oil went into the dough, and I used my bread machine to knead the dough without any oil and a squirt of Pam on the cookie sheet. I'm not sure if this is how it was supposed to be, but it turned out fine for me. Also so far I've just used a little less than half of this to make 20 small dinner rolls and I have plenty left which I'm considering portioning out into dinner rolls and freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
What a great, easy recipe! Made it with 4 preschoolers; it's forgiving, and delicious! I had the kids roll it into small loaves, baked it, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Simple and easy bread recipe. I followed the recipe to a T. Used this recipe to make pigs in blankets and the bread turn out wonderful! Reason why I only rate it 4 stars is bc the title sweet bread just wasn't sweet enough. Next time instead of 1/3 cup sugar I will make it 1/2 cup sugar. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
The recipe came out great. The end result was well, but the bread was not very tasty and has a weird odor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My dough isn't rise we'll either. Maybe because the recepie ingred states 2 tablespoons of oil. I put both in the dough. Was one for the dough and the 2nd for coating possibly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
One of the most consistently tasty recipes I have encountered, and I use it pretty regularly in my household now. Basic, but versatile! I can add more sugar/honey if I need a sweeter batch or leave it as is for breakfast rolls. I also braid it like challah for dinners with my church group. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Very first time making yeast bread with 4.5 Q KitchenAid mixer. Success! (And I just learned how to use yeast 2 weeks ago). Thank you for the recipe. Very easy to follow and common ingredients. Before baking I brushed with whisked whole egg. Texture and presentation is lovely. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States