Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This sounded great but I didn't have any large potatoes so I used small redskins cut into equal sized slices. I did everything else the same except took the hint someone else posted to roast them on a rack so they didn't have to be turned. They were wonderful, much better than any I've made in the past that didn't call for the sugar. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are yummy! They take a while to cook but well worth it. A welcome change over frozen french fries. Paired them with sloppy joes, great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Wessman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
These really are the best oven baked fries. I use this recipe all the time and everyone loves it. Recently I have started making a double batch. Halfway through baking, I remove half the fries from the pan, let them cool then freeze in a single layer on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. When frozen, I place them in a freezer bag and when ready to use, I remove as many as I want and bake them at 400F on a foil lined pan sprayed with cooking spray for 10 minutes on each side or until golden. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made oven fries many times, but never used the sugar trick. I have to say, it makes a big difference in crispness! So, thanks so much for that little tip that makes a huge difference in the taste and texture of these awesome oven fries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
these potatoes came out great! crispy outside, creamy on the inside. well worth the time to prepare..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Love it love it! I added smoked paprika and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I leave out the sugar and salt them first, then coat in the oil mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Another tip I can offer from years of commercial food preparation is a neat trick. If you guys want to make a lot of these you can soak the cut potatoes submerged in cold water overnight in the fridge. We use to make 5 gallon buckets full and the following day the starch would be in the water, then just drain well and cook. The technique would work for this recipe as well I'm sure, just use a salad bowl and the fries will be fine for a couple days even. The little extra work really pays off if you like 'real' fries. Getting the starch off allows the fries to be crisper whether they're baked or fried. One last bit I might also add is I know the type of potato you use can make a tremendous difference in how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Cwik

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mountain View, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I have made roasted potatoes in the same way, but without the sugar. I will try it with sugar but my potatoes always come out crispy without it. I also add thyme, oregano and any other yummy herb on hand... they are delicious. Always remember to use garlic powder with the herbs...So, with a salad, and crusty bread, they are a meal in themselves... thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These are great! I love how crispy they come out cuz I really dislike soggy fries :S Thank you so much for posting this sugar technique I've never heard of before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States