Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with how well this recipe turned out. Easy to make and they really do taste like fried fries. We can't wait to make the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
They were really good. I followed the recipe except for the garlic powder, I had none. Instead I cut up several cloves of garlic and let it sit for an hour, removed the garlic and proceeded with the recipe. The sugar is a must if you want crispy fries. Nice method, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
These are amazing - made them last night, and I agree with other reviewers that you don't taste the sugar at all, and that they were the closest to actual french fries I've ever tried. And, of course, much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
the taste was ok, nothing special, they were not crispy at all. I don't know what I did wrong. They were crispy until I took them out of the oven and put them on a plate they became soft....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ljiljana Bubalo
Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Fantastic! I have made these several times now. I love how simple they are. Drying the potatoes really helps to make them more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe! So much tastier than store-bought fries. My family is wondering, is there a way to make these in advance then freeze them? We rarely have time to make these right before we eat. What would be the best option to pre-prepare these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erised Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I used Yukon Gold Potatoes and followed the Directions. I only had time to let the Sugared Potatoes sit for 20 minutes, next time I will let them sit for the full 30 minutes. I agree that using the Sugar does allow the Starch from the Potatoes to come out, and chemically react, and you do get an overall crisper Oven French Fry. But, they were still a bit mushy in the middle and the edges almost burnt. I would attachly recommend that you use Virgin Olive Oil, just sprinkle on some Garlic Powder, Salt, and Pepper, and turn the Oven Temperature down to 400 Degrees. I will try these again, since I always get Fresh Yukon Potatoes in my CSA Share, and I don't want to buy Frozen French Fries. Oh to see how they make those Frozen French Fries would be such a secret treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Absolute best oven fries I have tasted. DH keeps wanting to get a deep fryer which I object to the idea. First for health reasons and second that he has been known to flambe items that shouldn't be flambeed. Did what one reviewer suggested with putting on the cooling rack on the baking sheet and didn't have to flip them. I lightly brushed the rack with olive oil and put a silicone liner on the baking sheet so cleanup was a breeze. This will definitely be my go to recipe for oven fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boots

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Cook a little less or cut a little thicker some of ours got too done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I did not have time to "dry" the potatoes, so I just cooked them longer. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by straar50

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States