Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Seriously this recipe lives up to it's name...Best EVER Baked French Fries. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I soaked my cut potatoes in warm water with the sugar, then drained them and patted them dry. They turned out so crispy and flavorful...better than fried in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This came out great too. I just personally have never found a way to make "crispy" french fries from the oven. But these were seasoned just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Townsend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Best baked fry recipe I have found! They really crisped up a lot more than a typical baked fry... super tasty. I used seasoning salt instead of regular salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Loved it! I made some fry sauce and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I think the temperature was too high. The potatoes tasted burnt. I think it might be better to precook in microwave before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I thought I'd try this method for French fries. Never heard of the sugar trick before! I know salt does the same thing as well. The sugar did release some liquid after 30 minutes, and I decided to rinse the potatoes off and dry over paper towels. A 1/4 cup of olive oil sounded like way too much, and I didn't want the potatoes burnt so I used a Tbsp. of canola oil and a Tbsp. of olive oil. I also left off the salt until after baking as the salt can make the potatoes soggy in the oven. So I sprinkled them with sea salt right out of the oven. I have a good quality heavy bottomed sheet pan and these baked for 15 minutes on one side, 10 on the other and they were perfectly cooked. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
They were very good, although they did lack crispiness which makes French fries perfect. I did leave out the sugar- I'm not too fond of sweet fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
These fries are really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Best and tastiest baked homemade fries hands down. FYI for salt-sensitive people, substitute Mrs. Dash and/or paprika for salt. It works fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States