Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used Russet potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, because that's what I had on hand. I cut the potatoes into slightly larger fries than recommended. They turned out very well, but next time I will cut the potatoes into slightly smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
While the seasoning is good, the use of olive oil and cooking at 425 degrees is really off. They came out super burnt after only 15 minutes because olive oil couldn't handle the heat of 425 degrees. FAIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The sugar step makes an unbelievable difference to the texture of these fries! I've made baked fries for years, but they were always a bit disappointing. The only difference between my old method and this recipe is the sugar step. It is key and the reason why it's a 5-star recipe. Try seasoned salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Finally! A cooking method that makes perfect non- floppy fries!! Very important not to skip the sugar step; set your potatoes that are in the colander inside a large bowl; you will be amazed at the liquid that comes out of the potatoes! Also very important, is that each fry lays flat as recipe states. I have done it in a hurry before and just kinda piled them all on the sheet, (cause let's be honest, if you're feeding a big family, a pan of fries laid out flat will not feed many people) and they were still good, just not as crispy. But, when you take the time to lay each one out, and flip each one half way through, they are crispy and yummier. :) Also, feel free to play with the seasonings! Italian is yummy too, or Goya. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Love, love, love these fries! Super yummy and easy to bake, a great hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
11-9-14: Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've used this recipe several times in the past few weeks, making a half-batch or so of the standard wedge cut fries and keeping the skin on my russet potatoes, and throwing on some Mrs. Dash and Canadian steak seasoning once I've got them all laid out for the oven. They're absolutely delicious! I have to keep an eye on my leftovers - any of these fries that I try to save for the next day or so have this particular penchant for going missing while others are in the house. The sugar is a curious step, but I have to agree that it's necessary and the sugar's taste isn't really noticeable in the finished fries - especially with my additions. All in all, this is something my family and I enjoy, and I'll certainly be continuing to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Snider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The very best. We love them. The longer they sit with sugar on them the better. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
My family enjoyed these fries. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and felt like there was too much olive oil left over. The fries were delicious, but I threw away a lot of olive oil in the Ziploc. So the next time I threw everything in the bag, then added olive oil until fully coated. I liked that much better and the fries were still delicious. I also think it's important not to skip the step where the potatoes sit 20-30 mins to dry up. I skipped that once, and while still delicious, not as crispy. This is a very easy and yummy recipe, try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States